We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, solid basic hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, solid basic hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel stands out for the location and the value. The rooms were fine, but nothing too memorable and a bit on the small side. The bathroom was cramped with no counter space. But, everything was within easy walking distance, and the staff were wonderfully helpful and seemed genuinely interested in our trip and making sure we were comfortable during our stay.

One note: you'll need to insert your room key in the card reader near the door, and leave it there, to get any kind of electrical flow in the room ... that took a while to figure out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    166
    137
    53
    35
See reviews for
73
203
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Katarzyna was very helpful checking us in and directing me to the underground parking on the back of the building. This hotel is downtown next to the Shannon river and within walking distance of King John's Castle and other historic sites. Also lots of shopping venues on the streets in this area. We took a hop on hop off tour of the city from the Tourist centre (nearby) and a bus tour from the same place to the Cliffs of Moher. Our room was excellent and the breakfast was superb. Served to your table. The bar next door had excellent pub food and excellent service. We really enjoyed our stay in Limerick.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent one night in Limerick on my way back from a deployment in the middle east. The Pier Hotel was in a great location on the river and within walking distance to numerous pubs and clubs. The hotel staff was very accommodating and made every effort to insure our stay was pleasant. The bar connected to the lobby serves an amazing seafood chowder and it is complemented well with the Smithwick's on tap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autigers5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed there last Nov as part of a christmas party group...I did write a review then but it didn't go through for some reason.....The staff could not do any more for us...we had the best rooms and a fab meal.....great music and we had a brilliant night......I have no complaints whatsoever...Can't wait to stay in this hotel again.......

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, just ask when you book.....they are very accomodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm just back from a night in Limerick with the girls. If you're going to Limerick on a shopping trip or just a night out with the girls/lads, I would highly recommend The Pier Hotel.

The rooms have no frills but are very clean and very reasonably priced but what brought me back to this hotel again was the service. The staff are just lovely. From the time I booked the room until I checked out it was a pleasure to deal with them!

My next night out in Limerick I will certainly be back to the Pier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

we stayed at this hotel 10th may,when we checked in we noticed how friendly staff were two females and one male we inquired about things to do and they were so helpfull one of them came out to the door with us to direct us to an area we were looking for later when we came back to park our car a staff member called christine was so nice and helpful also a chineise guy working in the bar was extreamely friendly.room was really clean and cosy and for a hotel in the city you could here no noise from the street even though we were on the first floor we will definately stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The attitude of the hotel management is terrible.
After booking a room, the hotel charged my bank account with €100. When we arrived to the hotel, the transaction was denied so upon checking out, we paid for the room. After a week later, I learned from the bank that the €100 was taken by the hotel.
When I requested a refund from the hotel, they did not answer my mails. I could reach the hotel only through the booking website; two weeks after we spent a night in the hotel, they made up that the room was smoked in (well, it is absurd because we are non-smokers!!!) and they do not wish to refund the money.
So should we think about this €100 as stolen by the hotel???

Shame on you Pier Hotel!

By the way, the room smelled like history, it was nothing like the photos.The room was not cleaned properly.
I usually fell asleep quite easily, but in this place it was impossible. The windows let the noise of the street in, the walls are paper thin and I could hear everything from the neighbour room where a drunk couple was shouting, fighting and hitting the furniture or each other...

In the morning, the waitress wanted to charge us for the breakfast but it was included in the room price so we asked her to double-check...
This place is the total opposite of Irish hospitality. From the first moment to the last, we just did not feel welcomed.

We have travelled all over Europe, and this is the first hotel we have to complain about.

Room Tip: Never ever Limerick again!!! If you decide to stay at this hotel, check your bank account after boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at The Pier Hotel, Limerick, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are surprised to hear of your complaint in light of the fact that we refunded you the €100.00. We have a policy which all guests accept on checking in, that if a guest decides to smoke in the room, a charge of €100 will be incurred, as the room will be out of use understandably until the smell of smoke is removed. Our housekeeping team obviously reported that the room you stayed in had been smoked in. While we accept this may have been a mistake on their part, they are vigilant in their checks.

In relation to the noise, we are a city center hotel and therefore the noise from the street is outside our control. The noise from other rooms is something we would of endeavoured to abate had you notified the reception of your issue.

Kind regards

Kasia Mrozowska, Front Office Manager, The Pier Hotel, Limerick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boutique Hotel
The Boutique Hotel
#18 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#17 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Hotel, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel, Limerick

Property: The Pier Hotel, Limerick
Address: Sarsfield Bridge, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pier Hotel, Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pier Hotel, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Hotel, Limerick Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing