We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Outstanding Museum”
Review of Hunt Museum

Hunt Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.47*
and up
Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin
Ranked #4 of 109 things to do in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hunt Museum houses one of Ireland's greatest private collections of art and antiquities, dating from the Neolithic to the 20th Century, including works by Renoir, Picasso and Yeats.
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Museum”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Hunt Museum is well worth a visit if you are in the Limerick area. The collection is eclectic and was assembled privately by the Hunt family. It consists of archaeological items from Ireland and beyond, ceramics, art works etc. The guides are all volunteers and are well informed about the collection. There is a cafe/restaurant area (that I didn't avail of) and an excellent shop that you encounter at the entrance/exit. The admission fee is not excessive. Parking is at a nearby high-rise car park - at least that's where I parked, there doesn't seem to be any parking at the museum. In a region with some fine museums, this is the jewel in the crown.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SixmilebridgeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    159
    54
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great museum in Limerick City”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Hunt Museum has excellent displays on various eras, cultures, and locations. Everything is well-organized and easy to access.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSavvy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting, but very random.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This museum was quite interesting. 3 floors of "stuff" from the Hunt family. I say that because basically, it's "Stuff" they acquired throughout their lifetime. I use the term "Stuff" loosly because we saw famous paintings, and tons of years old artifacts, that the Hunt family used like it was a common object. EX. An ivory vase. That they used for flowers.

Our tour guide taught us quite a bit, but I didn't get to linger like I would have liked. He talked mostly about the artwork, and I was really just not interested. I wanted to know more about the other stuff. That being said, you can take the tour on your own if you'd like, and I may go back and do that. Also, no photography is permitted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_Rose_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A place of interest.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I brought students to see this museum. The staff were excellent in their explanation and knowledge of the Hunt museum. The exhibits were unique from bronze age to Tudor and while we were there the staff were setting up a fashion exhibit with exhibits from the nineteen sixty's. The Hunt Museum is a fun and interesting place to visit and its even more so when you realise it is a private collection. So anyone visiting Limerick and has some time to spare go visit the Hunt museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Seán S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Visited when they had the really good summer exhibitions. Programming very dull now.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great collection and excellent guides. Nice to see cafe re-done. It was always a lovely setting but the standards of cleaniness was shocking..really dreadful. Hope management has been changed in catering with new look. Bring back the good scholarly art exhibitions please. Be proud of what you are and stop trying to be the arts centre type of place attempting to cater for everybody but achieving little. Looking foward to some improvements on my next visit from US

Helpful?
Thank Felicitysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt Museum also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Hunt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing