We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for food and atmosphere”

The Curragower Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 298 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great place for food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Ate and drank here recently with some friends of mine and we had delicious food and a lovely atmosphere. Chowder and scampi were fab and we will def be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBear066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    193
    45
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Friendly seafood bar with great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Myself and a few work colleagues called in for a bit of lunch recently with no expectations..The food was nicely presented by friendly staff, the fish cakes were absolutely amazing and great value, we will definitely be returning. The pub is very cosy and has a great atmosphere - great place to pop into if you are staying close by ; )

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, relaxed atmosphere and great views of the castle, altogether we had a very enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I very much enjoyed my afternoon in the Curragower. The scampi was delicious, the portions were good and the price was pretty reasonable. There was also a very laid back atmosphere. All in all we had a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“Seafood Heaven by the Shannon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Delicious scampi and pints of guinness to be had in the 'gower...great atmosphere and good craic to be had...food, drink and views - limericks best kept secret.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Expected no frills but got some fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Having travelled to Kilkee in Co Clare expecting to get good seafood by the sea along the way and being disappointed, I was delighted to find what I was looking for under my nose beside our hotel in Limerick. The Curragower along the river opposite the Castle in Lmerick serves a limited menu of simple food that tastes fantastic. The seafood chowder was creamy and full of great chucks of fish and prawns. I had to try the seafood pie after too which was equally as good. It also offers some artisan beers and ales which went well with the food. All were very reasonably priced too.
The Curragower is a traditional local bar first and foremost and has seating in room at the back and an outside area out front with a view over the river. Food is served up to 8pm.
It is child friendly also and staff were very accommodating with our little daughter.
I could easily have stayed on in the bar for another couple of beers if time had allowed but will be back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhaleBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curragower Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The Curragower Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing