We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 Pery Square for Communion Lunch”
Review of Sash Restaurant

Sash Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 315 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $53
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The charming restaurant on the first floor of No. 1 Pery Square is called Sash, referring to that most distinctive feature of these magnificent Georgian houses, the sash window. The name Sash is also, maybe, a nod to the dressing-up appeal of going out to dinner somewhere special! Step into this stylish space through a quirky sash window-shaped door, into a restaurant with views of the surrounding Georgian streetscape, a lovely room with a menu that is quietly confident and traditional, but with the same contemporary twist to be found throughout all of No. 1 Pery Square. Focusing on home cooking with an extra layer of sophistication, the menu at Sash is almost like country house food in the city - showcasing simple but elegant dishes, both classic and contemporary, using old-school, time-proven techniques. Ingredients used are local, seasonal, and reflective of a menu that would have been familiar in the house at the time it was built, recognisable to those original Georgians, with the addition of herbs and leaves grown in No. 1 Pery Square's own kitchen gardens where possible. Sash also has a carefully selected wine list featuring a collection of unique boutique producers & classic selections, ranging from casual wines for relaxed evenings, to rare and hard to find bottles. Sash reflects the attributes of its home in No. 1 Pery Square - being elegant, thoughtful, Irish, historic, with an extra layer of sophistication and character. Sash is a little beacon of old-fashioned conviviality - cosy, not grand, relaxed, not posh - and serving proper food to share and enjoy.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If anyone is planning something special and looking for a nice restaurant/hotel I would highly recommend Number 1 Pery Square in Limerick. We had lunch there yesterday for Tammys Communion and it was lovely, the staff are very nice, the rooms lovely, the toilets spectacular and the food was absolutely delicious with great portion sizes!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryKobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, Owner at Sash Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Great you choose No 1 for your day, delighted your enjoyed your lunch so much and thank you for taking the time to review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just had dinner here tonight, it was amazing everything about it was stunning from the deco to the food and staff. My husband is a typical irish fella and thought the food was to fancy for him so of course he didnt eat his food (i ate some if his to as it was so tasty) so our waiter Juan brought us down glasses of champange and then said he would order him steak and chips with sauce in the side. The steak came and he said it was the nicest steak he has had (thank god) Juan came back to check it was to his liking. We were very impressed with the staff here. We will be coming back again and hopefully Juan will be looking after us again! Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ali28Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had a recent meal here and, as with an earlier experience, it just falls short of my expectations. We had drinks in the small downstairs bar where the barman was under pressure to serve the customers and tables were cluttered with uncollected glasses and dishes. When we got upstairs to the restaurant, it was very crowded and the staff were under obvious pressure. One hour after our arrival, we were still waiting for the main course. Food standard was reasonable, but the experience was spoiled by the inadequate and slow service. We were offered free drinks at the end of our meal to compensate for the delay. Seems that this restaurant falls short of providing a top quality experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank gatechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, Owner at Sash Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hello & thank you for your feedback. I don't recall your reservation with us but I am interested to hear your feedback and thank you for that. We certainly don't want to fall short of customers expectations, we try very hard to exceed. An hour from order to eating starter and main is not un common( depending on dish choice) unless a guest is in a rush, when cooking to order it does indeed take a little more time. I would love to opportunity to hear more from you and an opportunity to change your taught's on us if you wish to talk to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had our sons` Holy Communion Lunch at this Hotel. The Staff looked after the kids needs while we could relax and enjoy our company. The food is Amazing and the attention to detail is impressive . will recommend to anyone for an Occassion.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank netty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, Owner at Sash Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your day so much with us. Thank you for kind words, it was our pleasure to make your day extra special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had an excellent lunch here a few weeks back with a friend. Small glitch on the order but they staff more than made up for it - including an improptu mini birthday cake for friend. Charming service, excellent food and all in one of Limerick's most elegant squares. Have also had dinner here - but delighted with choice and quality of lunch there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarieRIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food1wine, General Manager at Sash Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for you lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Limericks historic Georgian quarter. Summer menu starts next Wednesday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sash Restaurant also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Sash Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing