We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Super food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornstore

The Cornstore
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cornstore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 273 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Cornstore Restaurant Limerick is situated in the heart of Limerick City, on Thomas Street. As one of Limerick's best restaurants, we offer a casual, warm and lively dining experience in a Manhattan style setting, complete with a unique wine and cocktail bar. Specialising in seafood and steak, the restaurant works on the ethos of "quality food sourced locally".
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I loved the food here but found it a little noisy. It was very busy - food, service excellent.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    347
    101
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Gem in the heart of limerick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I am from limerick and have lived abroad for many years and on return visits have been to places like chocolate , luigi malones and they truly left a huge amount to be desired. I didnt hold out much for this restaurant going there. But I was so surprised and in awe of the amazing food that was presented to me.

firstly they had some very nice wines no italian bad pinot grigio which i truly hate but the had nz pinot gris which was pretty amazing. i had ceaser salad and for my main Cannellone of butternut squashgoats cheese, pine nuts, spinach and figs with sun dried tomato pesto. this was a little bit of heaven on earth. Do you know that feeling when you taste something and you wish that it would stay in your tastebuds forever. It changed my perception of Limerick dining forever. Thanks guys.

I did have a gripe though - children on a saturday night. I understand that they are little people but after 7pm i dont want to see them or hear them when i have gotten a babysitter!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank annemariejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Manhattan in Limerick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great value dinner in the Cornstore, 24.95 for three courses. The mussels with black pudding were excellent, prawns pil pil, lovely but could have done with a few more, confit of duck delicious and for pudding, the sticky toffee won out over the rhubarb and lemon posset, which was deliciouos. Staff are really good here. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taisteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a nice place but the food portion size is lacking somewhat and the cost is a tad pricey for what you get.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Have eaten here a few times and always found the food excellent and the service very attentive.

Only thing that frustrates me about this resturant is on two occassions we walked in without a reservation. Resturant wasn't busy and first question we were asked was do you have a reservation this was followed by a check on the computer to see if they could fit us in !! When we left there were still empty tables.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornstore also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The Cornstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing