We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of The French Table

The French Table
Ranked #1 of 300 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic French cuisine in a relaxed setting overlooking the River Shannon
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is an excellent restaurant - really good food and first class service. I particularly liked the ciabatta style bread that was served with soup.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    104
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere with a beautiful view by the river. Very good and friendly service and the food was divine. Great wine collection also. Highly recommended, can't wait to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank irska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but very, very poor service.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had to come to a counter to pay my bill - cause they've never come to me. Probably I should just go away without paying if they don't want their money.

Really uncomfortable situation, all good impression from food completely destroyed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kseniase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frenchtableLimerick, Owner at The French Table, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed our food, however, we are very sorry to hear that you felt uncomfortable in our restaurant. It certainly was not our intention. When our waiter brought the bill to your table, he noticed that you had not finished your drink and he simply wanted to wait until you were finished before taking payment. We do not like our customers to feel rushed when they dine with us. Kind regards, Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent menu and brilliant staff.”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

A well balanced menu, great wine list and the best staff in town. Loved all the dishes. Tasteful decor, relaxed atmosphere.
We'll be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent for lunch”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have been to the French Table a few times for dinner which is always a wonderful experience. However, I went there for lunch last Friday and it was absolutely delicious. The set menu was great value with lots of choices but I went for the main menu. My partner had the carrot and smoked bacon soup, it was beautiful and for mains we both had a Croque Madame. It was unbelievably tasty. the sandwich had so much flavour and was by no means greasy, the salad was tasty and fresh and the sauteed potatoes were an added bonus! The staff were lovely and topped up the bread twice. It is great value for money and I look forward to visiting again and trying the set lunch menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Table also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The French Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing