We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Group meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Table

The French Table
Ranked #1 of 295 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic French cuisine in a relaxed setting overlooking the River Shannon
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Group meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

very relaxing and homely atmosphere in the restaurant with very good service. A group of 10 us ate here over the christmas period. It's unique (in limerick context) menu is satisfactory but doesn't offer a huge choice of dishes. I had the goose which was lovely and the majority of our group chose chicken and fish dishes which they were quite happy with too. Savoury food rather than wholesome

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    99
    17
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited early one saturday evening and they managed to get a table without a reservation. They staff are very helpful and gave us a few homemade crisps to nibble on as we persued the menu.

The menu was very varied but I chose to order the duck which was amazing and perfectly cooked.

The only downfall is the location but apart from that the restaurant was top notch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great location and fabulous staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would have given this restaurant 5 stars only I found the portion size a bit on the small size, the lamb I had was very small and the sides to go with were not great, a few fried potatoes and a small amount of vegetables, for the price I would have expected a bit more.
Not sure if I will return as my husband left hungry.
The food is cooked perfectly, the combination of flavours are spot on, I found the staff to be just lovely and I really liked the location, the only down side for me was the portion size. Sorry

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareWithTheHairCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Ate here tonight and was very impressed with the French fare. Service was quick and friendly helped by the fact the chef was serving too(nice touch) food was tasty and well presented. Liked the way ingredients were seasonal and fresh. Looking forward to next visit..

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Food4life00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice french food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice French food. Good wine list broken down into several areas in France.. Not overly expensive. French onion soup was very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Table also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The French Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing