We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The French Table

The French Table
Ranked #1 of 310 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Authentic French cuisine in a relaxed setting overlooking the River Shannon
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great value and fantastic food. We had the sirloin steak which was cooked perfectly. Tea and coffee come with petit fours (don't bother with dessert).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    108
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gorgeous meal and brilliant atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a lovely experience we've had again at the French Table- it easily our personal number one restaurant in the city. It has great gorgeous food and a brilliant atmosphere suited to cost couples especially! Thank you again French Table!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EamoMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Cant believe I didnt even know this place exists until someone recommended it to me. Had dinner there last week. Love homebread bread to nibble on while you order. Food was top notch and reasonable for the quality of the food! Cant wait to go again!

P.S the creme brulee was stunning! and massive!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john_cappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleisland, Ireland
2 reviews
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I took my girlfriend on her birthday. The settings of the restaurant is very minimal. Located adjacent to the shannon river and a stone throw from the Clarion Hotel. The food was lovely and the service was just unreal. I made my girl very happy on that day. The surprise cake I ordered was absolutely phenomenal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service & Value”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was without doubt an excellent meal. First, this place has has a good, not huge, but well-chosen, wine list, something that is rare in Ireland. All the wines are from France and represent a good cross-section of regions. Wine prices are value-driven with all (I think) selections €20-€45. The wine service was competent and respectful of the wines. Stemware was reasonably good as well.

The service here was very friendly and though the staff were young, they were very professional and, unlike many places, seemed to have a genuine interest in and regard for the food. The food all-round was excellent. Escargots, French Onion Soup, Lobster Thermador and Toulouse Sausage & pork belly duo were all superb. Price-wise, we were very pleased. Starters were around the €8-€12 mark with mains in the low €20's (except Lobster Thermador which was on special for €30-ish which, for a 2 pound lobster, is very good indeed!).

We were delighted to have the chef/owner come out of the kitchen to chat with us near the end of our meal. Importantly, even though they do have a well thought-out wine list, they also allow you to BYO and charge a very reasonable corkage fee of just €15 (which was waived when they saw the quality of the bottle we brought - we rewarded this generosity by sharing a glass of our bottle with the staff)

Overall, The French Table is an excellent restaurant to which we will no doubt be returning. In a time when so many menus are uninspired and drab, this is definitely a place to write home about. Bravo!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaithiDufaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Table also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to The French Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing