We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and cozy”
Review of Desmond Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limerick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desmond Lodge
Ranked #9 of 30 Limerick B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at Desmond Lodge, where Bridget hosted us with grace and kindness.

The rooms were clean, comfortable, private with views of magical Lough Gur. Bridget filled us in on the history and culture of the Lough Gur, and on the news of the town and Ireland.

Breakfast was served exactly to our liking, with plenty of everything. We look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yttap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Desmond Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were delighted on our arrival to be welcomed with such warmth and generosity and a much needed tea. Nothing was too much trouble for Bridget. Desmond Lodge is in a wonderful and peaceful setting in a fascinating historic location and both our room (with a gorgeous view of the loch) and that of our daughter's were beautifully laid out and comfortable. The delicious breakfast lasted us till supper.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Bridget was so welcoming and open--despite arriving several hours later than planned (in part due to a faulty GPS), she set out a tea tray and chatted with us until we were completely relaxed and at ease. Although my friend and I were expecting to share a room, she gave us 2 separate ones at no extra cost as they were available; and these rooms were gorgeous! She gave us some really helpful tips on the area--we ended up seeing the local standing stones, although they weren't listed in our guide, and they were definitely top 5 monuments of the trip. When I return to Ireland, I will definitely plan on staying here again.

Tip: use the coordinates on the B&B's website, as the address may not be located by your GPS (*cough* Garmin)

Room Tip: front of the house has a gorgeous view of the lake; top floor is more quiet if there are other guest...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firesirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived around 8pm, having reserved a room for two of us and Bridget welcomed us into her house. We asked for a second blanket since my friend and I found out that we were not good at sharing one blanket at our previous hotel, and instead, Bridget offered us a second room since it wasn't taken. She then told us to go back into 'town' to a bar we passed on the way in and socialize with the locals. We were a bit tired so instead, we decided to enjoy the hotel and our separate rooms.
The breakfast the following morning was delicious. Fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, the works, and then Bridget offered us scones (which we couldn't turn down) and they were fantastic.
Overall, this was a great place with a lovely host and an amazingly beautiful location!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mashag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you stay nowhere else in Ireland , this is an absolute must.

Bridget's humour and hospitality are dispensed in equal measure from the moment you step over the threshold.

The extensive accommodation is brilliant; the view of Loch Gur from her beautiful house was exquisite.

The local pub was a cracker - where else would a landlord allow you to bring in your own fish and chips?

Simon, Jennifer, John and Dolly all had a great time and will be back some time soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fabulous and couldn't be more peaceful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

You start off being mesmerised by the gentle beauty of the surrounding landscape, then you realise that you have hit gold when you meet Bridget and she welcomes you into her lovely home overlooking the lough. It's not the extremely comfortable beds or the beautifully prepared fresh local food that makes the difference. It's the fact that every guest is looked after individualy like a close friend or favorite relative. It's hard not to feel at home and very contented.Undoubtedly our best stay in Ireland. Unsurpassable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bakery96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Amid the slumbering beauty of Lough Gur - a landscape steeped in pre-history and touched by magic - you'll find Desmond Lodge. Here Bridget Daveran dispenses local knowledge and advice with gusto and great humour, as she prepares individual breakfasts fit for a Munster king.

Eggs, rashers, sausages, black pudding, toast, lashings of golden butter, marmalade, home made jam, freshly brewed coffee that would grace a Michelin table....start the day with Bridget's breakfast and all is very well with the world.

Desmond Lodge represents Irish hospitality at its warmest....the perfect launch pad for an exploration of the west of Ireland, from the Ring of Kerry to the Cliffs of Moher and the untamed beauty of Connemara.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barryshaw186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
11.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,973 reviews
11.1 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,176 reviews
12.1 mi away
Woodfield House Hotel
Woodfield House Hotel
#11 of 20 in Limerick
134 reviews
28.2 mi away
Aaron Lodge
Aaron Lodge
#1 of 30 in Limerick
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desmond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desmond Lodge

Address: Lough Gur, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Limerick
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desmond Lodge offers luxury accommodation in a truly idyllic location. Set in its own private gardens, overlooking Lough Gur in the heart of Limerick one can sit and savor the natural haunt and habitat of all sorts of flora and fauna, with badgers, foxes and rabbits often seen roaming around. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing