We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, lovely staff, nice pool area, family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, lovely staff, nice pool area, family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in a family room for one night. The room we were allocated on arrival smelled very badly of smoke, staff were extremely helpful and we were moved promptly. The second room was lovely, spacious and clean with a double, single and camp bed. Breakfast in the morning was good, although the coffee machine seemed to have a mind if it's own! The pool area was really nice too and the girl working there was very friendly. Overall our stay was pleasant

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiesueirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    200
    122
    49
    50
See reviews for
164
175
31
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at night time, had a pleasant check in, room was clean, bathroom was clean, so far so good.
Went to the bar for something to eat. That was our first mistake. I had a steak which was passable but my wife opted for fish and chips. The fish had obviously been cooked at an earlier date, frozen, then microwaved to order. The batter was chewy and inedible. Note to the chef - Batter is normally crispy and tasty. We were also served a 'salad' which had been drowned in a vinegary type sauce. To call it disgusting would be nice about it. The bar staff were also not exactly friendly. Maybe it had been a long day for them but that's no excuse to look like they had been wearing the same clothes for 3 months. When our waiter cleaned our table he made a point of showing his buddies my wifes unfinished 'meal' and didnt come back to see if we wanted dessert, tea or coffee, etc. Deprived us of the opportunity to say 'no way'. This was the most depressing bar that I had experienced for many years.
Breakfast the next morning was a similar experience. The chef was chatting up the waitresses when we arrived. I said good morning and the waitresses were polite enough to say good morning back to me. The chef just looked at me as if I had 7 heads. He should have spent more time ensuring that the hot breakfast was edible. I can't begin to describe how poor it was. The hash browns looked as if they had survived for a few days already and I wasnt going to be the one to put them out of their misery. Other items were cold. The beans and scrambled eggs had a reheated type skin on them but at least the bread was fresh.
The view from our bedroom window was of a gypsy camp with tons of rubbish dumped over their boundary wall and apart from looking at that there is nothing else to do unless you fancy a trip to Aldi or to the local petrol station.
Check out was less friendly than check in.
Normally I am asked if everything was ok but not this time. It was like we were not welcome there and the staff were apathetic as to whether we came back or not. But they have no need to worry as we certainly won't be. We'll spend our money elsewhere next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This trip was booked for us by family who had previously stayed in this hotel. We arrived onn Valentines night at approx 9.30pm. The guy at check in wasn't over friendly and gave us our keys. When I enquired about breakfast he told us this was not part of our "package" and didn't even point out where breakfast would be served! Up in the room, all looked good at first glance. However when I sat on the bed, I nearly fell through the 2 single beds pushed together! We rang downstairs and were told that there were no double rooms that night. No apology. The next morning after a bad nights sleep with springs digging in our backs and a warm watery breakfast I went down to reception to complain only to be told that all double rooms in the hotel were single beds pushed togehter but usually the beds were zipped together. Gillian said she would get housekeeping to look at the beds. that evening we had dinner in the restaurant, it was fine. The newly zipped together beds were just as uncomfortable as the night before. On Sunday morning I went to let the water out of the bath only to realise that the plug wouldn't come out!!!! On checking out I brought my complaint again to Gillian who seemed totally unfazed "apologies, I'll pass on your complaint". That was it! Never ever again. Poor hotel, bathroom was stained with dirt, uncomfortable and just lazy customer service!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosskeys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights a nice place to stay, the hotel is well located and easy to find plenty of parking, the staff are welcoming and helpful, nice to see a hotel with a swim pool and steam room with sauna , after a hard day it is nice to unwind and have something to do in the long evenings when staying away, the restaurant shuts early although room service meals are available, the rooms are well finished are spacious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just had a weekend stay at the Maldron Hotel in Limerick with the wife and kids, although the location doesn't give the best of views (there is a halting site almost opposite) I wouldn't want this to dissuade you in any way. Staff were excellent throughout from reception to waitering and leisure club people all friendly and attentive. The hotel is modern and room was good, clean with plenty of space and the package we had included bed, excellent quality all you can eat breakfast, generous and great quality evening meals and free access to the pool and even a free pass to a jungle gym down the road!!! a secure under cover car park is also available which was told to us at reception but we didn't avail of it, ideally located for shops and university everything is only a ten minute drive away. Excellent value the meals & pool alone would have probably cost the package price we paid so effectively the room is free!!! would consider an away trip here again without hesitation for quality & value.

Room Tip: be nice to reception they are very accomodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 663daddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Ok, location is not great. But for a clean bed and use of a gym it's a very good deal.

The staff were helpful, the 5 euro breakfast was more than adequate and the room was clean, comfortable and warm.

Only concerns were the noise from deliveries to a Aldi next door and the lack of a safe in the rooms.

For business it's great, for leisure you really need access to a car as the bus service is irregular.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around 237 to 249. Internal facing a courtyard with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I had a fab stay in The Maldron Hotel in Saturday 28th December.We had two rooms next door to each other as we were four friends staying for the night Check in, room, dinner and leisure centre all excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel for it's frienly and helpful staff. We all had a fab time and the price was excellent for a Saturday night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarleylassCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
2.3 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Limerick

Property: Maldron Hotel Limerick
Address: Southern Ring Road | Roxboro, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the vibrant Limerick city with its many attractions including King Johns castle, the Hunt museum, the treaty stone and Thomond Park to name but a few.The ideal base for day trips to Bunratty Castle , the cliffs of Moher, Ballyhoura, Adare village, and Foynes flying boat museum.For shopping enthusiasts, the hotel is located minutes from the famous Crescent shopping centre and the array of high street city centre stores including Debenhams and Brown Thomas.For those visiting Limerick on business, the Hotel is perfectly located as a meeting point , with direct access onto new motorway systems to Dublin, Cork and Galway.All our bedrooms are designed with business in mind and with 12 dedicated meeting rooms the Maldron is the first choice for many business meetings.The hotel is also located within minutes of the Regional hospital, Raheen business park, Mary Immaculate college, the University of Limerick and the National Technology park.With 143 spaciously designed bedrooms we can offer many choices of accommodation including King, double, triple and family rooms catering for all your accommodation needs.Club Vitae Leisure Club with 20m swimming pool , gym , sauna , Jacuzzi , steam room Extensive dining options including Stir Bar and Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limerick Maldron Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing