We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Quality Hotel Let Down by Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Quality Hotel Let Down by Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have stayed here on numerous occasions, the most recent being in February 2013. This is a very good value, spotlessly clean, large, and appealing looking hotel with well appointed rooms, a nice bar and super keen prices. You can get a room for 2 with breakfast for under €60 most of the time.

The most recent time I was there I was upgraded to a suite with a massive bedroom and a full living room, which was a really nice touch.

Breakfast was unfortunately a bit of a let down with a cold fry and nasty porridge.

The leisure centre is above expectations for the price, unfortunately there can be some undesirable locals in there from time to time.

This hotel is near enough to Castletroy (University), about 6-7 minutes in the car. However the area is undeniably rough, which is why the prices are cheap I suspect. That's not to say you should expect any trouble, I have never seen any, and staff are generally excellent and there is a secure underground carpark. If you are arriving in a car and leaving in a car you should be fine. I personally wouldn't wander the streets around the hotel though, especially at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    200
    122
    49
    50
See reviews for
164
175
31
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin - it provides a comfortable and safe stay with excellent service for a good price. Stayed here recently with my girlfriend and chose it due to the good value and leisure centre.

Check-in was uncomplicated with the happy and helpful staff on reception, any requests were met without concern - extra pillows, bucket of ice and wine glasses all delivered within 5 minutes. Ate lunch and breakfast in the bar which we found to be tasty, filling and decent value.

The leisure centre was just what we were looking for; the pool in particular suited perfectly as my girlfriend could swim lane laps and I could relax in the pool, spa and steam room. The room itself was the expected standard and any experienced travellers like ourselves would be happy with it. Check-out was busy but the reception staff were again personable, friendly and efficient. Little around the hotel but this is not the hotel's fault - a 5 minute taxi ride will get you into the city centre anyway so this was not an issue.

We would happily stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JollySwagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks worth of reservations made at this hotel. After 3 nights I cancelled the remainder of my stay and checked out. There's no air conditioning in the rooms, the pillows are cheap and uncomfortable, the bed was hard and squeaky. There are also lots of strange stains in the room and the bathroom. The hotel is in a dodgy area - there are no safes in the room nor is it possible to deadbolt the door. On my final night here, the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. No apology from the hotel was forthcoming regarding this.

Ate at the hotel twice as it's convenient. The food isn't so bad and the staff are attentive. The restaurant is also reasonably priced. I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erroltho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Limerick hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just back from swimming in pool area, don't bother go some where else. Used the family changing room and a smell of urine, no benches, no hairdryer, a towel in the bathroom to dry hands. Very unclean. Manageress very rude and no customer skills. Beware go somewhere else if you want to use the pool for relaxing time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisseyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in line with trip advisor rating 4/5.

The only thing unusual was that the hotel has a higher rate for family room. I paid €32 euro extra per night for a double bed and a single bed.

The bed was not a double bed but two single bed joined together to make a double bed.

Perfect for smokers travelling with family as there was a balcony where I could smoke without going out from hotel for smoke.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zee344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

stayed in the maldron for 3 nights with my family .we had stayed there last year and as soon as we entered the bar we had meet the same friendly staff especially Sandra .Sandra couldnt have been any more helpful to us for the whole weekend.she always had a smile and had time to ask us about our day.Sandra look after our 4 year old at meal times she looked for something that was not on the menu the first night and Sandra made sure they had it for my daughter the next 2 nights for this we were very greatfull .keep up the good work you made or weekend thanks a million hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdduggan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Too far from the City center so very limited options to do anything except sleep in the hotel. We did try to walk into town and it was at least 30 minutes but the concierge said it would only take 15 but it was too late to walk back. I would stay closer to the city next time although not much to see in Limerick either

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank busytraveller5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Great National South Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Limerick

Property: Maldron Hotel Limerick
Address: Southern Ring Road | Roxboro, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the vibrant Limerick city with its many attractions including King Johns castle, the Hunt museum, the treaty stone and Thomond Park to name but a few.The ideal base for day trips to Bunratty Castle , the cliffs of Moher, Ballyhoura, Adare village, and Foynes flying boat museum.For shopping enthusiasts, the hotel is located minutes from the famous Crescent shopping centre and the array of high street city centre stores including Debenhams and Brown Thomas.For those visiting Limerick on business, the Hotel is perfectly located as a meeting point , with direct access onto new motorway systems to Dublin, Cork and Galway.All our bedrooms are designed with business in mind and with 12 dedicated meeting rooms the Maldron is the first choice for many business meetings.The hotel is also located within minutes of the Regional hospital, Raheen business park, Mary Immaculate college, the University of Limerick and the National Technology park.With 143 spaciously designed bedrooms we can offer many choices of accommodation including King, double, triple and family rooms catering for all your accommodation needs.Club Vitae Leisure Club with 20m swimming pool , gym , sauna , Jacuzzi , steam room Extensive dining options including Stir Bar and Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limerick Maldron Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing