We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just amazing, could not recommend more”
other travelers have booked this property
There is no fire like your own fire.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
There is no fire like your own fire.
Our lodges The children's play area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
There is no fire like your own fire.
Our lodges
The children's play area
The adventure area for the older children
Plenty of space
The View
The View
The View
The Mountain Bike Park nearby
The Gate Lodge near the lodges. great walking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ollietrex
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just amazing, could not recommend more”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, we went with friends and 3 young kids for a long weekend, mountain biking, walking, playgrounds all onsite or super close. Could not recommend highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Thanks for the review Oliver, was great to have ye back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim O
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mighty Location”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location is Ideal. We barely got to scratch the surface of what is on offer in the area in terms of walks, hikes, pubs, cycles etc. We rented as a mixed family/ friends group - very family friendly, private. Personally, one of the best aspects is the way the wifi/ phone signal works - there is good signal in the reception area, and nearly none in the houses. This is a huge advantage to me for a 'get away from it all' holiday. Already looking at going back in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2018
Thanks Tim. Come in the Summer when the days are longer and you can do the longer hikes over the hills. Ita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasa B
Fermoy, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

we stayed in lodges during Christmas.We had brilliant time you have everything you need in the house very nice layout,clean all amenities are there.Location is amazing

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2017
Thank you Raza. You just missed the snow here yesterday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ailís N
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great weekend away surrounded by beautiful walks in Ballyhoura Mountains”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was my third visit to the Ballyhoura Forest Lodges. The cabins are beautiful and very cosy, and have everything you need. On this trip we went with friends and their dog, as well as our dog too. It’s great getting somewhere the dogs can stay and the surrounding forest and mountain trails are perfect for the pets. Ballyhoura has about 20 loop walks so you’re not lacking choice of activity or scenery! The views are amazing whatever time of year you go.

Ita is very friendly and helpful on check in & check out. The cabin was clean, has dishwasher, washing machine & dryer (we didn’t need thankfully), nice size oven and lots of other kitchen essentials. With four adults and two dogs we had lots of space.

We’ll definitely be back as this is my favourite place for a mini break in Ireland. Very hassle free, quiet, relaxing holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you Ailis. Hopefully the next time ye visit ye will also be booking a cot. Best of luck.
Ita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tc g
1 review
“A classic, warm forest cabin away from all the noise and distractions.”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

If you looking to get away from it all, this is the place to go.
Whether for bike trails thorough the mountains and hillsides, walking in the forest with your kids or chilling out with a glass of wine in front of the solid fuel stove in the evening, this is a really relaxing place to be. Very well located to discover the south and south west of Ireland, it was our home from home for a week and we really enjoyed it. Get ready to detoxify from all of those noisy gadgets that we really don't need..if you must check your social media, you will have to walk to reception, which is only up the hill..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
Thanks Tiernan for a lovely review. You are welcome back any time you need to get away from gadgets and enjoy the world about you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArk o
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Phone coverage, what a treat”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with family for 3 days and 2 nights in early October, highly recommend it. The kids had a great time in the Forrest exploring, lodges were fab and beds were very comfortable. Faculties all 5 star and cooking equipment was spotless clean and working 100%. Local pub was a stroll away and very welcoming.

The log fire was a huge hit, the main benefit was the silence, We will certainly be back.

Mark

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed your visit to the local. Looking forward to having you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowan H
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Escape the rat race”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second time staying at Ballyhoura Mountain Lodges, and, as before had a great holiday. The location is in a beautiful and peaceful wooded area, and only a short walk to a Ballyhoura forest, where there are miles of walks and exercise stations, if you're feeling energetic. There is an official mountain bike trail centre there, we brought our own bikes, but you can hire them there also. The local people are very friendly and helpful, and there is a small pub just down the road from the lodges. Ita looked after us brilliantly again, telling us of local events, where to shop, places to visit etc. We were lucky with the weather too, and there were only a few showers on our last day.
If you want to unwind for a few days, this is the place to go. We will be back again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you for the brilliant comments and hope to see ye back again when ye want to unwind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing