We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”
Review of Adare Castle

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This famous medieval castle is known for its storied history as well as its imposing architectural presence.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stopped off in Adare en route to Kerry. We have a heritage pass so decided to go see the castle. You go to the tourist office in the center of the village and are transferred by bus to the castle. We were astounded by the size of the castle...from the roadside it looks quite small but inside it's amazing. Our guide was extremely good and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CJLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Chapel, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A beautiful castle...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Another OPW site. As a previous reviewer explains the you start from the Heritage Centre in town. (excellent scones and free wifi btw). We were lucky as it wasn't raining. The guide was excellent, even explaining to one bemused American why the arrow slot windows were so small.... Once again OPW have done an excellent job in sensitively renovating the ruins. We were amused that the first stone castle was built by the Anglo Normans but all the bad things that happened were done by the English! Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZZBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great heritage site.”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

There were road works on in the town when we visited so the traffic was truely dreadful. Can't comment on what it is like normally. The tour starts from the Tourist Information office located in the center of the town. Free parking abounds at the back of the office and there are plenty of other historical sites and local craft shops to enjoy while waiting for your tour.

The castle is located 5 minutes away (in normal traffic) and the transfer to the site is by mini-bus and is included in the admission price. There were only four of us so the tour was relaxed with no difficulty in hearing the tour guide.

I have to commend the guide from the outset. She managed to convey the history of the castle and area with a passion and enthusiam that is all too rare especially considering the number of times she must have delivered it already.

The castle is reasonably well preserved although it is almost all outdoors so may not be quite as pleasant an activity on a rainy day. The tour took about an hour. There are no artifacts, reconstructed rooms with furniture etc - which we had almost come to expect at these OPW sites - but that did not lessen the experience.

Overall I would highly recommend the heritage site.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank medic143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Felt like royalty staying here! Absolutely must stay here!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Booked a tour and this was part of the package for 2 nights. Don't know how we got so lucky. It is a beautiful old castle, grounds with walking trails, a spa "The lavendar cottage" on sight, a golf course, next to a river, beautiful gardens. club house for casual dinner, castle candelight dinner for upscale dinner (we ate the unbelievable tasting menu for dinner). I wish we could have stayed here the whole trip. Great with kids. Indoor Pool in the hotel, business office for computers. You can even make reservations to do archery in the garden. Tree garden etc. Lovely. Lovely, Lovely. Lots of history and very regal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CastelblancoClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A revelation”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I was a member of Probus(retired business and professional men) on a visit to Desmond Castle Adare. We were greeted by Mike Barron , our guide . A more ameniable and knowledgable guide would be difficult to find. He led us through many periods of the history of this castle in a clear concise manner. I had many times passed through Adare but had never visited this historical site. Would highly recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank fionnuala_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adare Castle also viewed

Adare, County Limerick
Askeaton, County Limerick
 
County Limerick, Province of Munster
 

Been to Adare Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing