We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Oriens

Sol Oriens
Ranked #14 of 79 Restaurants in County Laois
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time in this restaurant. It does everything a typical Irish Italian restaurant does but the food is cooked really well and the staff are very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank s7796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    27
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food we've had in Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here for dinner tonight and were blown away with the food taste. He ordered the mussels dinner and it came with 50+ mussels and garlic bread for 15 euro. He said it was the best mussels he has ever had. I ordered spaghetti bolognese which was also the best I've had. It is on the pricier end but were on vacation and decided to treat ourselves. We overhear the man at the table next to us say that this is the best Italian food he has ever eaten.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best Option In the Locality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

As locals, we eat there quite regularly. We have always found the service friendly and efficient with attentive staff. The restaurant has a standard selection of Italian dishes. The food has always been perfectly cooked and is good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pjmsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“not as good as before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nothing to get excited about overall not great, food was ok nothing wow but ok over use of peppers in all the garnish the bread basket at 3 euro was 3 plain white rolls with 5 pats of butter think this was a bit harsh you would think a selection of bread . Service was very relaxed ..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fussybutnice033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super reliably good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We ate twice at this restaurant this weekend and had two very good meals. We brought the kids each time and they were very well catered for - their meals came with our starters so no winging that they were hungry!
The staff were very efficient and friendly. Both the pasta and the fish were really excellent - hake was really super and pasta de la mer equally tasty. The kids had locked pizza. On our second night we had a caddy car take us back to our house which was great fun for all. In an oasis of options we were really lucky to find such a reliable restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sandymountdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Oriens also viewed

Killenard, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Sol Oriens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing