We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Kilkenny”
Review of Pinecrest BnB

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinecrest BnB
Ranked #15 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were warmly received, well treated and very well fed. Both Liam and Helen were actively involved and pleasantly interactive. The B&B is a short walk to pubs and restaurants and shopping. We got a great recommendation from Liam on a pub with live music. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougDorial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Pinecrest was a great overnight stay for our family of four. Helen and Liam welcomed us like old friends and were very helpful with recommendations for an evening of local music in town and for our drive to Kenmare. Our room was comfortable and breakfast was very good. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredBoiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Awesome accomodations and very, very friendly. Highly recommend!! Short walk into town to explore Kilkenny. Breakfast is included and very delicious. Best eggs I had in Ireland. Good base to do Glendalough and Waterford/Wexford. Kilkenny is good for touring also.

Room Tip: Large room in the front of the house on the second floor is AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkelly9102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed one night at Pinecrest B&B. It is an easy walk to town in a location that is easy to find by car (has off street parking). The downtown of Kilkenny is very congested with cars, so it is better to just park at B&B and walk to town. Our room was very comfortable, breakfast was generous and the hosts both were very friendly people. A well run B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This b&b is top notch, both in location and hosts. We stayed 2 nights and upon arriving, we thought we could catch a Smithwick's tour...too bad for us it was fully booked. But Helen saved us by quickly booking us another tour the following day. All this in the first 5 minutes of meeting us! Now that is Irish hospitality, I tell you. We stayed in room 4 which was quiet and had a firm bed. The location is 6 minutes walk from the town centre and all the coolest pubs, but without the noise following you home if you know what I mean.

Liam greeted us each morning warmly and offered encouragement for the day with tips and directions...love it! But the best part, was the awesome breakfasts. Have it 'full on' as Liam says...and enjoy some strong coffee here. Warm up with museli and yogurt and fresh OJ. You will not leave hungry my friend.
Thanks again you two. If we ever come back your way, you can count on us for breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 4 faces the sun in the morning, if that is your thing. It was mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Pinecrest in Kilkenny. It's centrally located so we were able to take day trips out and see what we wanted to see such as Waterford, the rock of Cashel and so forth. It's also within walking distance to downtown, we walked to Kilkenny castle and other attractions.
The owners Helen and Liam are awesome, they greeted us like we were old friends and made us feel comfortable and welcome plus they were so helpful with any questions we had they even helped program my sons GPS to get us places we wanted to go.
The rooms are clean and quiet, the beds are just perfect. Breakfast was all you can eat and gives a great start to the day.
I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Collie

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Thank you to Helen and Liam for your hospitality and help with our maps! My son and I traveled across Ireland and Kilkenny was our first stop out of Dublin. The room was very comfortable, clean, and spacious, and breakfast was delicious. We were easily able to walk into town to see the castle, visit the pubs and listen to music. One of my favorite memories of Ireland was dancing a jig at a pub in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stilllovetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.8 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
781 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ballyduff House
Ballyduff House
#2 of 4 in Thomastown
185 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newlands Lodge
Newlands Lodge
#2 of 74 in Kilkenny
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 74 in Kilkenny
223 reviews
11.3 mi away
Moonarch Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#5 of 74 in Kilkenny
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinecrest BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinecrest BnB

Address: Bishops Meadows, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $41 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinecrest is a small intimate architectually designed family run B&B situated in a quiet cul de sac in the heart of Kilkenny City only a 5 to 10 minute walk to all the historic sites. There is free car parking and WiFi available and guests are greeted with the offer of refreshments, a map of the city and a hearty Irish welcome. Breakfast consists of a buffet with juices, Tea, coffee , porridge and freshly cooked traditional Irish breakfast to die for. Local information is offered to all our guests and no task is too big after all we are here to ensure that all our guests have a most unforgettable experience in Kilkenny. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pinecrest Bnb Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing