We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for music and beer”

The Field Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 226 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good for music and beer”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Called in during the afternoon for something to eat and a drink. Wouldnt rave about the food, had the Irish Stew, which was rather disappointing, expected it to be thick, but it was more like a broth and was pretty tasteless. Did go back in the evening for the music, no complaints on that level. Good for music and beer, but not sure about the food, maybe just my expectations

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EssexOnlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    100
    25
    14
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“DO NOT GO THERE”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

i went to the field bar in kilkenny, and myself and my boyfriend ordered drinks and dinner each.
as the pub is very small and we had to wait and get a suitable seat so we could sit down and eat , we unfortunately got a table by the door which was not really a problem at first .
as it is late September the weather is cold and the wind was harsh, i asked my boyfriend would he mind getting up to close the door as there was a terrible cold breeze blowing in on top off us and it was so cold! the owner came down and opened it again. so very nicely we called over the waitress and explained to her it was very cold would she mind closing it , she said yep of course. the owner came down to our table and abused us completely, and told us to move if we were not happy which really upset me ! i would not recommend this pub to anybody as the owner and staff are highly dis respective. your worth going to a nice friendly pub and get a warm welcome. hope this helps you

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paws_Ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERTA
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Place for lunch, worst place for an evening hang out!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our service during our first visit was great. Lunch was good and prices where affordable. I would go back during the day with the staff that we had there. Then decided to try it out in the evening, it does not seem like the same welcoming fun place, it becomes sleezy and the guys at the door where completely ignorant to us for no reason. I have know idea where the attitude came from. Real jerks they are, was not impressed with this pub at night. There are over 80 pubs in kilkenny all the others we visited were truly wonderful.....Go ahead and skip this one at night, you're not missing anything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Didn't eat here,so only commenting on the pub scene.Its just ok,compared to the other bars around Kilkenny.Got out of date beer,which always puts me off somewhere.Its fine for one drink,but wouldn't fancy it all night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolo7822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best food but fun bar”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Food was a bit unappealing, greasy, and bland, but the bar and music was great. I'd go there again to drink but definitely not to eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank domertommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Field Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to The Field Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing