We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid B+B, conveniently located.”
Review of Abbeylodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbeylodge B&B
Ranked #17 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

About 5 minutes from downtown. Rosie greeted us on arrival, gave us plenty of good tips (like Kyteler's Inn), and made us a very nice breakfast. While the place is nothing fancy, seems like a good value and we're happy that we stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 279 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay for one night while touring Ireland. The room was clean, quite large and the decor was very nice. The breakfast was excellent. Rose was a terrific hostess. It was very quiet and peaceful but the four of us were the only ones at the Inn. Would recommend this B&B without reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Abbeylodge is a nice surprise. Don't let the facade of the building make you think it's a motel or hotel. It's a lovely B&B. The decor is stylish, modern and very upbeat. The combination breakfast room/lounge was bright and cheery -- and our delicious breakfast included both hot and cold options. Including the best fresh fruit layout in all of Ireland. Our Triple room was both spacious and cozy. The bath was on the small side -- only because 3 adults were sharing the room -- but we had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The beds were comfortable, too. Rosie, the owner, was helpful -- and warmed our morning with her good nature, especially when she opened up a bit to answer our questions about Hallowe'en in Ireland. Another great feature of this B&B is that it is in walking distance of town -- but removed enough that we did not have to deal with street noise. Oh, and it was a happy surprise to see a statue of Buddha in the garden outside our window. :) Be aware that you will have to pay cash here. A minor detail for the comfortable spot that is Abbeylodge.

Room Tip: If you are 3 single people traveling together, the Triple is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank innerfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We were satisfied with our stay. Rosie was great, the room was fine but the pillows were like bags of cement. There was a rooster that started crowing at 0430 and continued until after 0700. Not the fault of the B&B, obviously, but it did not contribute to a great night's sleep. We spent a great evening listening to music and it was faulous to be within walking distance!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidergirlMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Loved this B and B. The location is just on the edge of the attractions but quiet. The decor is smart and elegant. Rooms are unusually spacious. Rose is a great hostess. She can give you suggestions of where to eat, what to visit, and even let me use her vacuum to clean up my rental before I returned it.The breakfast is cooked to order with a nice selection of teas, juices, and fresh fruit. Great B and B. THanks.

Room Tip: The family room has a great view, lovely beds, and the best bathroom/shower I've found in any b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Rosie Keenan Abbeylodge proprietor was a superb hostess. Helpful and thoughtful with suggestions for dining and providing good driving instructions for our next stop. We stayed two nights and the view from our room looked over to St. Mary's Cathedral. Good location for walking the city and we never had to move the car until we left Kilkenny. What's not to like! And, if you want to learn to play the Bohdran check out evenings at Kytelers Inn for a good group lesson. Goes well with Guinness.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank birdie07Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Abbeylodge for just one night. Rosie was very helpful in directing us on what to do and how to get there. We had a fun time of dinner and Irish music. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful and huge. Clean and spacious room, nice bathroom.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.5 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 74 in Kilkenny
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#5 of 74 in Kilkenny
570 reviews
10.8 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
4.3 mi away
Newlands Lodge
Newlands Lodge
#2 of 74 in Kilkenny
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeylodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeylodge B&B

Address: Dean Street | The Watterbarracks, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $35 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeylodge Bed & Breakfast is a newly renovated, luxury boutique style B&B situated in a quiet area of Kilkenny's City Centre.Excellant central location - on the same street as st.Canice's cathedral.Just 5 minutes walk to restaurants, pubs & shops.Flat screen t.v.'s, Private Secure Parking,FREE Wifi , FREE bottled water, tea/coffee facilities , hairdryer and iron in all roomsSpecial rates for large groups & for kids under 12.Child friendly: cot, high chair & bottle warmer.Continental breakfast in bed on request.Packed lunch,fresh flowers & newspaper on request.Tourist information guides & Map ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing