We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is in a good location to go to and from Kilkenny City. We used a taxi one day and walked the other. The hotel itself is nice. Just not greatly run. We, along with others waited 15 minutes for somebody to show up and check us in. The rooms are clean and adequate. We got this hotel on a deal website so it was worth the money. I have read reviews of the price being changed though. If you're looking for an average hotel close enough to the city that wont break the bank than this is it.

Also the breakfast does leave a lot to be desired and the wi-fi doesnt work well on higher floors or basically anywhere too far from the reception area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterford91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Kilkenny House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to check into this hotel last Sat with my wife and two children. Arrived to find nobody on reception with a note stating would be back at 1:25PM and a mobile number to call. As it was 1:30PM I rang the bell on the desk, within a minute a woman walked out from the kitchen ignored me and waked straight into the back of the reception area to get a reservation book, she then walked back out to the front desk and this is how the conversation went in a very unfriendly tone:
Her: Name
Me: My name
Her: Long pause while looking up the name and then throwing a key on the desk and demanding the money up front (previously booked via CC)
Me: Can I see the room first
Her: No you pay.
At this stage she walked away and the owner of the hotel arrived back into reception and I advised him that in this day and age I cannot believe how I was just treated to which he apologised and said that she was under a lot of pressure after having a lot of rooms throw at her that day. This as far as I am concerned is not an excuse to which I advised him that I would not be staying there and picked up my bags and walked out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank hunkydory72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Located out of town.

Ted the manager was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean but old and wear and tear was obvious. The best part was the shower.

OVERPRICED! Plus extra charges for booking via Internet and paying by card- 10 Euro extra.

Breakfast??? Bizarre- toast, cheese, cereals... Not what was advertised.

There is a pub... Apparently with 'live music' from midnight to 3am! Not funny for a weary traveller!

Stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently and found the hotel simple, but nice. The owner was lovely, and keen to help, the rooms were tidy and comfortable and the place was great value! The only real issue we had was that the bar wasn't open for long, nor did it serve food aside from fries, and the restaurant was closed during the week. Not a huge deal as we just ordered a lovely delivered pizza from down the road! Overall a nice, tidy and quite place to stay on your way through Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place has its pros and cons. It was not my favorite stop on my recent tour of Ireland, but it was not bad either.

The Good: Nice owner, who was helpful and gave lots of suggestions for what to do and see in Kilkenny. The place was clean, and the bed was pretty comfortable. The room was a decent size, with tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The included breakfast was very good. There was a selection of cooked options as well as standard continental options. Ample free parking. A little but outside of town, so there was not much noise from outside the hotel.

The Bad: Location is not great if the weather isn't good. The walk into the city center is about 25 minutes...fine on a lovely sunny day. Not so good in the cold and rain, which I had. A taxi into the city center is between 6-7 euros. It was cold inside the place. My room was very chilly, and the heat only gets turned on in the evening and overnight...so if you are there during the day in the winter, you'll need some warm clothes. My bed had a thin blanket only, with a heavy winter duvet in the cabinet. My bed was nice and clean, but when I took out the duvet, it was obvious it had not been washed. It was also very, very noisy there. If you have trouble sleeping, bring ear plugs! I could hear people moving around and speaking in each of the rooms surrounding mine, and in the morning I heard each of their alarm clocks go off, too. I know this is usually par for the course in a B&B - but be prepared for it if you stay here.

Bottom line: There's better, and there's worse. If you can get a low rate and don't mind an average place without many frills, then its not a bad choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfect!!

It is a very close walk, which is scenic and lovely, to downtown.

Pros:
-Clean!
-Amazing beds!! They are clean and as comfortable as Hampton Inn in the States
-A seriously yummy and right fresh continental breakfast was included. Filled us up until dinner and was super tasty. Something for everyone.
-Lots of room and a very nice stay.
-Hairdryer and hot water in the rooms...even comes with shampoo and soap!
-Feels like a much nicer hotel than the €50 we paid.
-Super easy to find

Cons:
WiFi didn't reach up to the 3rd floor. We used it in the lobby though

Love, love this place

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMarie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The owner is very helpful and seemed genuinely concerned about the welfare of his clients. Rooms was large and clean. The hotel lies a few kilometers outside the city and I didn't notice any public transportation passing. Parking is plentiful, free and secure.

The clients in the hotel bar seemed to be the hotel's guests but i was the only foreigner in the group so it was a very Irish experience. As it should be.

I agree with other reviewers. The breakfast was pedestrian but palatable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.4 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
770 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,983 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny House Hotel

Address: Freshford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: $57 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkenny House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kilkenny House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing