We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable place to stay”
Review of Fanad House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fanad House
Ranked #12 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Pat is a great host. Fanad is within walking distance to the shopping, castles, churches and most important the pubs. The breakfast was exceptional. So much good food. I would definitely stay there again
Dave and Francie. Denver, Co

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 291 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed over at Fanad House in Kilkenny recently. The welcome that I received from Pat was sincere and friendly. His breakfast is second to none and is a unique experience . Pat's knowledge of Kilkenny City is indeed vast and in my short stay period I was able along with a group to experience the wonderful history the City has to offer. Fanad House is like home from home and thank you Pat for the wonderful stay and I hope to be back shortly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simpson110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed in Fanad house recently with a group of friends and Pat gave us a truly Irish welcome to his beautiful Fanad House. He organized with a local tour guide; also named Pat to give us a tour of Kilkenny City which was really worthwhile. There is lots to see in Kilkenny and there- abouts and we had a very enjoyable stay. The "organic on site eggs" gave a five star rating to an excellent and lavish breakfast. We had very tastefully decorated large en suite rooms in a beautiful house with great parking and a very nice garden. I hope to have the pleasure and opportunity to stay at Fanad House in the future. To be recommended. Peter C.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A group of fourteen of us met up after a shared experince forty years ago. Pat Wallace understands what a 'full Irish breakfast' really means. We had a truly lovely evening meal later. The house is spotless. The welcome is real. Thanks Pat for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fanad House is right across from the grounds of Kilkenny Castle, one of the most gorgeous in Ireland, and steps to great shopping at the Kilkenny Design Center. Had a huge ground floor room with view of the private garden. Recommended by friends who stayed here last year, we wish we'd stayed longer. The whole place is spotlessly clean, comfortable, lovely modern decor and facilities throughout, especially the luxurious shower and king bed. Very open and stylish breakfast room with all private tables. Felt more like a luxury hotel but at a B&B price. Best of all? Pat lets you leave your car parked there as long as you like while you visit the castle and Kilkenny town - a real bonus as there is NO parking near the castle. This is a small inn really, lots of rooms and parking, but with an intimate feel -- would be great for a large family group or bunch of friends travelling together. O yes, and breakfast was yummy!

Room Tip: If there's one available, choose a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pat was an excellent host and Fanad House was an excellent place to stay in Kilkenny. Located immediately next to the castle park and a short walk to the High Street. We arrived later than we planned and Pat gave us a great recommendation for a late supper. Breakfast was delicious and made to order with a good selection of cold/continental items. Before leaving Pat helped us plan a very scenic route to Cork via the Vees. Definitely recommend Fanad House and would certainly stay again if in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Tourist office put us on to Fanad House. We were delighted. Lovely rooms and furnishings, own parking and walking distance to town. Walked through castle gardens to view castle. The breakfast was delicious - their own eggs - and lots of choice. Very happy to recommend Fanad House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froggirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 74 in Kilkenny
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#14 of 74 in Kilkenny
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanad House

Address: Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $88 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fanad House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing