We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; parking, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fanad House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fanad House
Ranked #10 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great location; parking, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Lots of pretty flowers and good parking on site. Great location. A few minutes walk to center of town. This B & B has been Michelin rated for several years in a row, but to nitpick; several lights in our room didn't work ( sometimes bulbs burn out and if other guests don't mention it, how owuld owner know? Bulbs promptly replaced), no toiletries provided (but we didn't ask for any either), and the iron in the hallway was so gunked up that I didn't want to use it.
But that is minor. The room was spacious ( a triple room for our family) and had ample storage room. The view out had flowerboxes right at our windows. Very quiet location.
The host was friendly, and had a nice cereal, fruit and yogurt buffet out to get you started while he prepared whatever you wanted for your hot breakfast. We had full Irish breakfasts and they were very nice. Would stay there again. Thank you, sir!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaCanadafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    70
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
89
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed three nights during the Arts festival and got tips on the city and also surrounding area... we went as far as Waterford and south coast on a day trip.
Great service especially since it's a one man owner/operator... always the personal touch when needed... full brakfast choices and an easy walk to the city after to help it settle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was also taking part in the Kilkenny festival. My room smelt of damp and they soundproofing was non existent. As for the full Irish breakfast.... I have had better at Weatherspoons.

Would rather have camped in a tent.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having recently taken part at the Kilkenny International Arts Festival the accommodation allotted to me was at Fanad House. Situated only 5 mins walk from Kilkenny Castle and 10 mins walk from the centre of town it is in an ideal place. However - my room ( room 4 ) was devoid of any character, it was dusty and the bath panel was hanging off - the shower head was dirty and the noise at night quite unbearable.Other reviews have been favourable for this establishment so I can only hope that this was a minor glitch

Prof D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times and always choose Fanad House when visiting Kilkenny. The only downside, if there is any, to this B&B is its location, it is a bit of a walk to get out to maybe 10-15mins from the Castle entrance, however, you can take in a nice walk through the grounds of Kilkenny Castle on your way, once they're open. Also, there is parking available which can be hard to come by in Kilkenny, especially at weekends. You can also avoid driving through the city if you take the second exit (if coming from dublin) for Kilkenny off the motorway rather than the first and you come straight to the B&B. Not sure if they recommend this on their site. Getting back to the place itself. Service has always been good, rooms clean and spacious, WiFi available etc. Only problem with rooms is that they can be cold depending on the weather but just gives more reason to snuggle up :) Definitely don't have to worry about noise which is a big bonus for Kilkenny! Breakfast is always great, lots of options and a cooked breakfast. Great value too. Definitely recommend Fanad House

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you are staying in Kilkenny, this is a really nice B&B to stay. Rooms are large and well maintained. Lovely full Irish breakfast is included. Prices are extremely good, specially if you have a family. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have stayed here on 2 occasions, once with my partner and the other time with my best friend. On both occasions, I was very impressed, as it felt more like a small hotel as the rooms were big and not cramped at all. Owner is lovely and friendly, serves an excellent breakfast too. It's location is excellent as you are a short walk from Kilkenny Castle and an abundance of lovely eateries and public houses.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eithne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanad House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanad House

Property: Fanad House
Address: Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fanad House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing