We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bregagh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bregagh House
Ranked #24 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

I was there with friends. The location is ideal and Roseanne makes sure you know where all of the best sites are, as well as recommending great pubs. Everything is walking distance. Roseanne and John are charming, the house is clean and nicely decorated, and the breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina7587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    55
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
71
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Very hospitable and great service, lovely rooms with a great breakfast service. Great location from Kilkenny with lovely walking distance to the castle and Kilkenny township.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattcomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was the first time we have visited Kilkenny & were fortunate to be there for the "Music Festival". We couldn't have picked any better accomadation than the Bregagh House. From our arrival to departure we were made most welcome by Rosanne and her family. The bedroom and En Suite were very clean and tidy. The breakfast room is also very pleasant and modern. They have a lovely garden, which is very rare for such a central location,( app 2 mins to town). Parking is also available for numerous cars and is very secure. We will definitely be back to Kilkenny and the Bregagh house again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motownjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend as a base to visit family in Ireland. Rooms really clean and more than adequate for somewhere to shower and sleep. Breakfasts were excellent - choice of cereal, fruits, continental and of course the great Irish fry up! Proprietors and their family were very welcoming and friendly - nothing too much trouble. Compared with other establishments in Kilkenny, this place offers superb value for money and will definately return again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We feel very lucky to have found this lovely, very conveniently located and well-priced B&B. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is outstanding and Rosanne, the hostess, is simply lovely in every way. After a good night's sleep in your comfortable room, go for the delicious "full Irish" for breakfast and afterward, take a few moments to enjoy the beautiful backyard garden before starting your day. This was our first stop on a long driving holiday and Rosanne's warm good nature set just the right tone for one of the best vacations we've ever had. This was a family holiday and we were made very welcome and comfortable but Bregagh House would be perfect for couples looking for a nice, romantic spot to stop as well. We will most definitely be coming back to Bregah House!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We just poped in for one night in Kilkenny, and happeded upon Bregagh House. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. Nice parking lot, right in front. It's in a good location, quick walk to a great choice of restaurants and pubs. Breakfast the next morning was great. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanm0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Good location, walkable to the Kilkenny Castle. Rooms were a little small but the bed and pillow were the best. Irish breakfast and continental breakfast were the only choices in the morning. Both were good but a couple more options would have been nice.
Parking was tight but we really had no problem with the space available. All said, I would return to Bregagh House when visiting Kilkenny. For a few days, don't pass it up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fig_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
Kilkenny Tourist Hostel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#11 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
MacGabhainns Backpacker Hostel
0.5 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#6 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bregagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bregagh House

Property: Bregagh House
Address: Bregagh House Dean Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bregagh House is a modern, detached, two-story town house located in the centre of Kilkenny City, opposite Saint Canices Cathedral and within walking distance to all amenities. Bregagh House has been completely re-furnished and re-decorated in the last year. It is a family-run Guesthouse/B&B owned by Mrs Rosanne Brennan, who has over over 20 years experience in the B&B industry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing