We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Welcoming and Cosy! Perfect for Groups.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nulty's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nulty's Cottages
Dublin
1 review
“So Welcoming and Cosy! Perfect for Groups.”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

A group of 14 of us stayed at Nulty's Cottages for my sister's hen last February, and I can't speak highly enough about them. I was worried about how hard it can be to please everyone in terms of balancing comfort with price - but Nulty's really do give you both. And everyone loved their stay!
The cottages were sparkling clean, and lovely and warm (John lit a fire for us the minute we arrived AND there was underfloor heating), and you have everything you need there.
Other places I have stayed in for Hens, if not hotels, have been pretty basic, but while these cottages look lovely and traditional, they're also newly decorated and have DVD players, decent kitchens etc.
During the day, we had a stroll around the farm and a look at the horses, and then a big group activity in the kitchen/living area of The Forge. Dancing lesson for 14 - no bother! Taxis, take-aways and activity organisers had no problem coming out to the cottages.
John and Jean left us to our own devices for most of the weekend, but were always on hand if we needed them. From the first email they were exceptionally friendly and flexible.
Can't recommend the cottages highly enough, either for a group or personal holiday. I certainly hope I'll be back. Was sorry to leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nulty, Owner at Nulty's Cottages, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review, I remember all the dancing, The Lodge is ideal for large groups, and family parties, it is ,comfortable, spaceous.ideal for dancing lessons! People love to look around the farm, especially the horses and foals, the lambs would have been skipping around when you were here. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon. Kind regards, Jean and John Nulty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have just returned from a fantastic stay in these lovely self catering cottages. The cottages were spotless on arrival with lovely fresh linen and towels for us all. The bedrooms were lovely and warm and the beds were really comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped and we had a lovely open fire to sit around in the evening.
The cottages are situated on a lovely picturesque farm only minutes away from Kilkenny city. John and Jean could not have been helpful. They gave us loads of helpful tips on things to do and see in Kilkenny. Our group consisted of 25people,of all ages, and every member of the group had a fantastic time and thought the accommodation was perfect. I would highly recommend these cottages and look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We just returned from a too-short trip to Ireland, and spent our nights at Nulty's in "The Lodge". The space was comfortable and John and Jean were very helpful and friendly. Lots of pillows, comfy duvets and oversized towels are provided, and Jean had shopped a bit for breakfast essentials for our first day there. We enjoyed learning about the history of the farm from John, and the kids loved the dogs and watching him move the horses. The rural setting is gorgeous and is just minutes out of Kilkenny which has so much to offer. We look forward to returning in the spring!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bens5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Just loved the place was close to Kilkenny and other historical sites, loved the privacy of the cottage and we were up graded to a large cottage to our surprise which was lovely. Would recommend it thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

A superb location. Excellent services in each house. Sheep out the back and horses beautiful to hear in the morning. Have receommended to lots already. John & Jean both so friendly and inviting.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwis in Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We have had the pleasure of staying several times at Nulty's cottages and couldn't ask for better! Apart from the gorgeous rural setting - you really are staying at a working farm surrounded by sheep, cattle and horses - the farm house was superb. Lovely and clean, comfortable, well renovated and room enough for all 6 of us. Our 4 children (ranging from 4 yrs to 12 yrs) thoroughly enjoyed the bushwalks by the beautiful river and the odd bit of fishing for tiddlers. Great shopping in Kilkenny, Kilkenny Castle, Dunmore caves (well worth a visit or two!) and we loved the Discovery Park in Castlecomer. Everything is within 10 - 20 minutes drive away - just ask Farmer John, he's so helpful. Highly recommend a stay at Nulty's!

  • Liked — great scenery, clean and spacious
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

an absolute must if you want somewhere to get away from it all-john is a top bloke aswell always on hand to show you about,the city is only 5 mins away by car-although you wouldn't think so!! this place will do wonders for you if you need a relaxing break- its like a little bit of heaven on earth,really!!-check it out

Helpful?
2 Thank taxman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,667 reviews
3.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,812 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,599 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#10 of 78 in Kilkenny
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nulty's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nulty's Cottages

Property: Nulty's Cottages
Address: Kirwan's Inch | Dunmore, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While Nulty's Self Catering Cottages are located in the peace and quiet of rural Co. Kilkenny, we are still only a 7-minute drive from Ireland's medieval capital, Kilkenny. Set in 70 acres of grassland, Nulty's is a place where you can plan your own holiday, a relaxing weekend getaway or an action packed activity led adventure break. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing