We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would't go back”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“would't go back”
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Book a package which consisted of 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner.
Firstly the bedroom was fine, clean and spacious. Apart from the fact that one of the light bulbs was fused, the room was fine.

The breakfast left a lot to be desired. No clean tables when we arrived down. No fresh fruit, apart from large chunks of melon. So I had to opt for cornflakes and a yoghurt. Went to get some brown bread, and it was rock hard. No scones or croissants available. The cooked breakfast was dried up and looked like something which was left over from the previous morning. There was no ham or salami available either. The chef was wandering around in what looked like a pair of boxer shorts and he sat in the corner of the dining room and ate his breakfast! Overall it was an extremely poor affair. And the second morning was no better.

As for the dinner... Well a child would eat more than the portions we got. There were I think about 3 choices for the starter, one of which they didn’t have. Again I think 3 choices for main course, one of which they didn't have. The others were chicken or steak, and the steak was going to cost an extra 8Euro.
Got the chicken, which was about the size of a wing, a very small scoop of potato and a handful of veg. similar story for the desert didn’t have all the choices, and what I got was basically cheesecake from a packet! Totally disgusting!!

Overall a nasty experience!! Next time I'll stay in Langtons, a much nicer establishment with good quality food.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the food was terribe, and very bad value for money
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loopyloo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    515
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
220
941
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Stayed here recently for a three night stay. Loved the place. Room spacious and very clean with a fantastic view of the castle and of the Butler's House gardens. Downstairs lovely and sparkily and we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good quality as well. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a bit of luxury in Kikenny.

  • Liked — The view of the castle
  • Disliked — Having to come home!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vee-the-wee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We were attending a Wedding Reception in the overly priced Hotel Kilkenny and did not want to pay €200 for a room, so chose to stay in The Pembroke instead.
This worked out perfectly for us.
We did not eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the food, but the room, location and staff were all great.
I booked directly and got a standard room. Rang 2 days before to confirm and they upgraded us to a Castle View room free of charge. The res staff were so helpful and really nice.
When we checked in, the checkin went smoothly, and the same on check out. As we had a v v late night we slept it out, but the reception told us there was no rush in checking out, and to take our time.
The room was bright, modern, spacious and spotless.
The bathroom was brand new, sparkling and had a very rare thing these days..... Large Bath Towels that actually cover you !!!!
Bed was v comfy, flat screen, trouser press, iron, hangers, tea/coffe - all you need, but all modern, clean and convenient.

I am a travel agent and have stayed in lots of hotels from shacks to 5 star - this is great value for money for a city that is getting v expensive to stay in.

If you want ambience, character, boutique etc. it is not really for you, but if you want good value, modern, perfect location and efficiency, then this is the best Kilkenny has to offer.

I am presently booking to go back next year for another mini break.... :)

  • Liked — The modern and functional rooms, the amazing bathroom and those all important Large Bath Towels
  • Disliked — No room service for breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MissPiggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

we stayed in this hotel for two nights bnb plus eve meal, the reception area is nice and inviting,
the running of this hotel is all over the place no order at all,
we had the evening meal on the sat nite which was quite busy .
there was hardly no staff on and the woman that was working was very stressed out felt very sorry for her she kept apologising about the delays we had to keep asking for our food it was like they forgot about us i looked around and most other customers seemed to be in the same boat,
the food wasnt gr8 the best part was the choc cake.
breakfast on the sunday morning was chaotic no one seemed to be clearing the tables they were all piling up,
was really suprised as this is a new enough hotel,
the toast and eggs were nice but the puddings and rashers were horrible!
monday morning breakfast was much smoother the place was tidied no mess on tables.
one lift was broken for the entire stay, and the other one only worked sometimes it was tough on one old lady that we met with heavy bags we helped her.
the best thing about this hotel was the bed it was huge!!
the tv was very slow at changing channels and there was a constant buzzing noise on rte1.
the location was great as your close to every thing and the castle is 5 mins up the road.
i would stay here again but only if i was stuck, i wouldnt be eating dinner here though.

  • Liked — nice bedroom
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank polly94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We arrived at this hotel by accident after having failed to find our booked b&b (directions given saw us miles out of town in the middle of nowhere). We were pleasantly surprised when they had a family room available and were even more pleased to see how spacious it was. The beds were comfy and all in all the Pembroke represented great value for money. Nice and close to town and great breakfast. What's not to like?

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Shirefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Booked with Pembroke hotel directly (for less than €30 any website offered) for the beginning of Arts Festival. Caroline really helpful on phone and in person when I arrived two days later! Fabulous spacious room that had a very luxurious feel to it. Excellent buffet breakfast. Great value for money and central location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free parking. I will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Value for money, location, staff, accommodation
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I spent one night here in a twin room last Thursday. The hotel is quite new and very centrally located with free parking in a nearby multistorey car park. The room was spotless and a good size. It was on the first floor, very quiet but with no view. The bathroom was well fitted out and the shower was great. Guests can use the leisure complex in the Ormonde Hotel down the street. I didn't so can't comment on that. I found the staff very friendly. The breakfast was very average, nothing special but we paid only 79 euros for b & b which was really very good value.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — car park down the street
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teddy1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing