We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Kilkenny”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Having arrived in Kilkenny without having a room booked, we took a quick drive around town to get our bearings, then it was off to get a coffee and and wifi, to check the trip advisor hotel recommendations.
Pembroke Hotel was on top of the list. The location on the map looked ideal, so a quick phone call was made to book a room. As it was mid-week in November, a room was available, and an excellent rate was offered for bed and breakfast.
Trip advisor was right again. This is a extremely good hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, a spacious comfortable air conditioned room with a comfy bed, great location right in town and a terrific breakfast.
We originally were only going to stay for 1 night in Kilkenny, but due to the quality of this hotel, we ended up staying for 2.
I would highly recommend a stay at Pembroke Hotel.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank tmpMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night and both said we would definitely come back. The girls at reception were welcoming, friendly and efficient. The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and quiet. We had requested a quiet room when we booked as we are both very light sleepers. We had one drink in the hotel bar, which had a great buzz and atmosphere. After a great night out (what a fantastic town!), we went back to the hotel and to say we had a great night sleep is a huge understatement. The curtains were very heavy so the room was really dark and because everything was so quiet, we nearly missed breakfast. We woke at 10 am!! We thought it was only around 7-ish. The buffet style breakfast was ok. There was plenty of hot food, cereals, breads/croissants. We can be a bit fussy about our food and we didnt really like the quality of the sausages, pudding, but at the price of the room incl breakfast we cannot expect homemade high quality meat! This is a fantastic hotel and we would recommend it to anyone. You wont regret staying here. We'll definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed in the Pembroke last Fri. with four other girls. The Pembroke is easy to find with close by parking. Lovely reception area and a welcome that's needed in all hotels. The bar was busy and as I waited for the others I sat off with a glass of wine and the paper. I felt like I was nestled up in a cool bar in New York! service was brill. Wine was lovely. As the girls rolled in we admired the surroundings and went to our lovely rooms. Very modern, clean and comfortable. And warm - which seems to be a problem in many hotels. If you can't afford to hear the rooms you shouldn't be open for business. Breakfast next morning was lovey. A lovely choice of cereals, fruits, fry ups and no problem having gallons of coffee to stave off the imminent hangovers. I highly recommend a stay here and I will be bringing my hubby next time. Well done Pembroke and John who is a very competent manager. Because of the Pembroke Hotel, I now consider Kilkenny to be my new mini break destination. And it is also great to be in a small hotel where kids aren't running the show.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McAud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Arrived ahead of time on a wet sunday, room was ready and perfect, staff friendly and efficient ,and we totally enjoyed every minute and would love to re visit. Had snacks in the bar again lovely service,lady on duty for breakfast again friendly so overall a

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a good four star hotel, well-located in the very attractive town of Kilkenny.
The rooms are spacious with excellent free wifi.
The front-of-house staff are generally Irish and are both charming and helpful
The only negatives are room doors that close very noisily and thermostat and safe very poorly located.
The Irish breakfast is very good.
Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyJimWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Toward the end of our two week driving tour of Ireland, our traveling companions booked us at the Pembroke.
They had stayed there about two weeks before and loved it. We especially enjoyed the large bathroom and
shower as we had been staying in B&B's with Micro-showers!

The rooms and hotel were immaculate and the staff was very helpful. The hotel is located right in the center of
town. Within a block or so we went to the Left Bank for drinks and snacks. Across the street we had the best
dinner we had in Ireland at the Hibernia. And we topped it off at The Field Pub for live Irish music.

Of course the highlight of the Pembroke is that we could look out our window and see Kilkenny Castle!

A great hotel which also has a free (but small) parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garyamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is my favorite town in all of Ireland. So many sites and pubs, so little time. Pembroke Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Kilkenny. The view from most rooms is of the Kilkenny Castle. Just amazing. Our group of 11 stayed here and everyday we were amazed at the kindness and professionalism of the staff and towns people. So friendly. Rooms were great. Breakfast was very tasty and a great way to start each day. Paul gave some great suggestions for dinner and provided our group with a roof top peek of Kilkenny.
Thanks for making our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: ask for a castle view and not over the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 E40W, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $92 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing