We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked the Hotel a month in advance a got a great rate with breakfast. We arrived early and got an upgraded room. The room was nice, air included, good pressure in the shower. The buffet breakfast was also good. Easy to find and close to everything in Kilkenny. My only regret was not spending more time in Kilkenny. The next time, we will stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    534
    106
    36
    10
See reviews for
231
980
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occcasions and I absolutely love it.

Its location - it couldn't be more convenient for shopping, socialising or sightseeing. Its in the centre of everything.
The food is top quality. We had both dinner and breakfast and both were of an extremely high quality with great choice.
Rooms are very comfortable, excellent bathroom facilities and decorated very tastefully.
Staff very friendly and go out of their way to help whenever they can.

We were there for my Hen and It was a fantastic night - recommend trying the hotels cocktail master class. Great way to start the evening.

If you planning a trip to Kilkenny I wouldn't look further than the Pembroke - you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with the Pembroke. Clean, modern and comfortable with a great location and close to everything (castle, bars, shops,etc). Breakfast buffet offered good quality and variety. Comfortable beds. One of the highlights of our 10 day trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SAVTrav78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights recently. Nice hotel, convenient location, and staff were friendly and welcoming. As a solo traveller, I considered it quite an expensive stay. Would probably return if there were any better deals available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galway_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Where do i begin... Lost our booking (TOLD us to take a seat and wait), Room was okay, basic, my pet hate two twin beds stuck together without a proper cover so it was obvious. In need of repainting marks over bed on wall ????. You have to have a key to move around any of the areas... strange... no resident lounge except seats in the front of the reception, other than that you have the bar or the Bar or a white plastic covered area in the rain.... Nothing special anywhere here... Swimming pool is a 5 minute drive away (15 minute walk) Breakfast has a limited full Irish breakfast and a really limited continental .... Restaurant food was really good but the choice was 4 starters main courses or deserts(I asked this was the full a la carte for the night.) I wouldn't stay here again it just isn't worth it... unless your on a hen or a stag and just want hotel with a BAR..... Disappointing............... Don't understand the other reviews... Oh and to finish they tried to overcharge us and didn't even apologise.... Location good...but then there is a multitude of choice in Kilkenny. We wont return...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCorkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear West Cork Traveller

I was disappointed to read your review regarding your recent stay at The Pembroke Kilkenny

I would love to discuss your review with you in person.

Could you possibly share your contact details with me.

pbroderick@pembrokekilkenny.com

Kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend for the first time and loved it. We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Kilkenny but this one beats the lot.
We were lucky to get the last car space at the back of the hotel but they do have an additional car park a couple of minutes away.
I could not fault this hotel for anything, friendly staff, great food, very nice rooms and great location.

Room Tip: My tip would be to ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keegan_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and room, wonderful breakfast, lovely staff. Pure luxury. Very convenient location. A public computer in the lobby or business area would be nice (at no charge). They did have wireless, but we didn't bring our laptop. Other than that, loved our stay! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snickers58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing