We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Pembroke Hotel on our honeymoon. The front desk staff was very helpful with check-in. The hotel knew we were on our honeymoon and left us chocolates and made some swans out of towels kissing on the bed!

The only downside of the hotel was parking. When we arrived the parking lot at the hotel was full. We were able to unload our luggage in the parking lot but doing so blocked some of the other guests. There is a second parking area about 2blocks from the hotel with more parking, however, I felt like Austin Powers trying to get out of my parking spot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    529
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
228
965
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after arriving in Ireland earlier in the day. The car park is next to the hotel but is easy to miss because it is so narrow. We arrived before check in time and our room was not ready. The woman at the reception desk gave us a map and showed us nearby attractions we could see until check in time. The hotel is near the castle and lots of shops and restaurants. The Indian restaurant down the street was very good.Our room was very nice and had a castle view. Breakfast the next morning was good. My only complaint was the noise in the hallways. There was a group of women who liked to yell to each other in the halls. This was annoying at 5:30 p.m. and really frustrating at 3:00 a.m. After reading other reviews about Kilkenny it seems that it is a popular place for bachelorette parties so beware it might be noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Ireland and could not find fault with anything.
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms very well presented and the included breakfast was of a good standard.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Pembroke Hotel 6 times in the last 2 years. Last time we were there in August, and as always we were very happy with our choice. Staff is really friendly and helpfull, rooms very clean, bathrooms modern and the beds are very comfortable. I'll definitely will stay in this hotel next time I'm in Kilkenny.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kristof1636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just had two nights at the Pembroke and the two big plus points are that it is (a) within a short staggering distance of all the main sites, bars and restaurants and (b) does a wonderful breakfast spread. Try not to overdue the local 'stout' and you'll appreciate it more. We had a room overlooking Patrick Street but there was little noise to disturb.
There is car parking at the back of the hotel but not enough for a full hotel in which case you'll be directed to off-site parking a short walk away. If you are approaching the hotel by car I would suggest that you try to come in to the city from the south (thereby travelling north up Patrick Street and thereby avoiding the crossroads by the Left Bank.
A great friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Booked a double room back in april for a one night stay in september as we were attending a family wedding at 1.30pm, requested an early check in as normal check in is 3pm was told they would try their best to accommodate, rang on morning of wedding to say we would be at hotel at 12-12.30pm and requested early check in again, and so duly arrived, got parking no problem in hotel carpark good omen, two female receptionists on duty, dark haired girl checking another couple in they were given room card and room another good omen, fair haired receptionist dealt with us and i mean dealt no warm welcome here asked if we had got parking and then informed us we would have to wait till 3pm for room, explained we needed to change for wedding and was shocked to be told to use toilets!!! rather then argue we said we go grab a bite to eat in bar hoping she might be able to sort something for us and in mean time i checked the toilets, floor wet! returned to reception half hour later and asked if she had any luck and explained toilet floor wet and was told check toilets on ground floor near function room they might be better!! time is moving on didn't want to argue went and got lift to check toilets resigned myself to idea that after booking 4 star hotel they couldn't accommodate me with early check in and i had to accept it,on my way back up in lift met two couples with suit cases delighted with themselves they had managed to get early check in this is 1.15pm one hour after we had arrived returned to reception by now dark hair girl had returned from her break again i asked fair haired girl if room had become available was told abrutly no 3pm check in i then said i had met two couples in lift who had checked in after us and got rooms and i was no longer willing to change in toilets was told they had requested early check in so had i 5months previously how much notice must a person give the dark haired receptions looked at me puzzled 5 months and proceeded to check if she could sort room for us with fair haired girl continually telling her there was none available to which she replied i have them sorted and handed us key card thanked her and rushed to change as we were really late for wedding now. I really feel management should retrain fair haired girl as they do have a lovely hotel, rooms were very clean well done house management, beds extremely comfortable and tasty breakfast served till 10,30am on weekends all other staff members from breakfast to nightstaff and even porter who helped out at breakfast were friendly its a pity that the one person who is really the face of hotel should let it down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smilercork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently stayed for only one night (unfortunately) at the Pembroke Hotel in downtown Kilkenny, and had a wonderful experience there, from start to finish. First of all, it is right in the center of everything, and there is free parking out back. We received a warm welcome from Courtney at the front desk (she was great the whole time we were there!) and our room was lovely, spacious and comfortable and with a very nice, modern bathroom. The beds were super comfy, nice and firm the way we like them. Courtney gave us suggestions re where to eat and what to see in our less-than-24-hours in Kilkenny, all of which worked out well for us. We were very impressed with Kilkenny and wished we had had lots more time to spend exploring the town. The breakfast buffet at the Pembroke was free and very delicious, with every type of food you could possibly want, from cereal to pastries to scrambled eggs to blood sausages! If we make it back to Kilkenny, which we certainly hope we will, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere but the Pembroke.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 121 with two twin beds, overlooked the side of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,925 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing