We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable hotel in the heart of Kilkenny”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful, although the male waiter at dinner on 23 June was a bit stressed and told us it was because a large bus was coming in. He apologised that he could be ignoring us but he didn't.

We could not believe that this hotel was so quiet and well sound proofed being in the heart of Kilkenny. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree5821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

The one major advantage of this hotel is that it is well located in the town of Kilkenny, within walking distance of both the Design Center and the castle, as well as numerous shops and restaurants. However if you are looking for a taste of Ireland, look elsewhere. The hotel has a very modern, edgy feel and although the front desk staff is helpful, it otherwise lacks the warm, Irish welcome that you can find in many other hotels in this country. Our room was large and well equipped but almost cold looking because of the décor, and the one table (round) that was provided was damaged: we had to be careful what we put on it because the top was uneven and tilted. There is a nice breakfast in the restaurant, but again, none of the touches of Ireland that make you feel comfortable and welcome. The woman at the front desk, Courtney, was super sweet and helpful, but otherwise we got the feeling that we were in a hotel that strictly focuses on the business traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatienBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I liked everything about this hotel. The beds were very comfortable. We could see the castle from our window. Breakfast was very good. The staff was helpful and friendly. Excellent location. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocean979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is modern and small, but does not have a lot of character. There is a parking area behind the hotel that is free. Checking in is a little difficult, since there is no where up front to park while you check in. You need to pull in the road next to the hotel to access the parking area. We had castle view rooms that were connected. Everything was clean and comfortable. The rooms are air conditioned. The view was ok, but not sure it was worth the extra money. The view is of the parking below with a high wall and the castle peaks above the wall. It is quiet on this side versus a room facing the busy street. Dinner, Strathams, was served in the bar and not the restaurant which was interesting. The food was good, I had the steak sandwich. The bar was hopping. The location of the hotel is close to the castle, just around the block, and to the shops and restaurants. Once we parked we were able to walk to all the sites. The breakfast was a little disappointing. There is only the buffet and no option for ordering from the menu. Everything is self-serve. If you want a more modern hotel with a central location, this would be a nice choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kkgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes. Right in the heart of town, with easy parking on site, modern and comfortable. I loved the way the young people at the reception desk said "welcome" as though they really meant it. All the little details were taken care of and the room was quiet and spacious. Breakfast was good and efficiently handled. One night we had dinner in their restaurant and were most impressed. You can't go past this hotel for convenience and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a typical European hotel. Our rooms was clean and comfortable. Beds were very comfortable. If I leaned out the window, I could see the castle. It's in a great location and breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view room for charm but the rooms overlooking the car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadisonChickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

First time staying here at the weekend. Lovely spot, very central. The rooms are lovely, beds very comfortable. The only problem we had was that the people in the neighbouring room decided to blare their television for the night. The walls are thin. We had trouble sleeping. The dinner that night in the restaurant was disappointing, with limited choice & the quality of food wasn’t great either. If we go back, we’ll go for bed and breakfast only! The breakfast was good, relaxed & with an ok selection. (The sausages are lovely!) The staff here were nice and friendly too. We’d go back, but only on a B&B deal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
8.7 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 E40W, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $90 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing