We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Pembroke and really loved it. It's not old and quaint; it's modern and crisp, but the service is absolutely excellent - everyone who worked there cared and was lovely to us. There is parking around the corner - a little difficult to find, but it's free and just a short walk. The location is great - everything in Kilkenny is pretty close. The beds were soft, the bedding nice and breakfast was fantastic - exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lecruze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    529
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
228
965
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was a delight. Short walk to restaurants and pubs, but far just enough away from the hub of things to be quiet at night. We were in Kilkenny over a bank holiday and the town was rocking, but our hotel was oasis of serenity. Rooms were very nice and the staff top notch. Nothing that I would critique.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecil94117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slieverue, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Kilkenny City. It is a really nice Boutique Hotel, with very cosy rooms and delicious Breakfast. Both my partner and I stayed for a weekend on B&B basis, it was great value for money. Although It can be easily missed, so make sure you look up exactly where it is before you go! Parking is a problem, there is a very small carpark at the back of the hotel (entrance also easily missed!) But once you get a parking space you will not need your car again until you leave. Everything is at your doorstep. I would highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieArdfert_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Extremely pleased with our stay at this hotel -- will definately stay there again when we return to Kilkenny. Somewhat modern hotel compared to the other places we stayed (we did a lot of B&Bs in southern Ireland), with spacious rooms and a comfortable bed. Breakfast wasn't spectacular, but was pretty standard with what we experienced elsewhere. Street getting to the hotel is narrow and busy, but this becomes commonplace as you continue to drive around the island. We were able to park in the main lot near the entrance, which was really convenient. It was a bit small so I'm sure there were people staying there who had to park in the auxilary lot, but I'm not sure how far that is from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy and Emil... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this 4 star hotel. It was very clean and the staff were friendly and resourceful. Very good breakfast and centrally located.
Not sure what can be done but there is no real noticeable sign as you drive along Patrick road and we drove right by it the first time.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LarryStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in Oct 2012 for a small hen night which I had arranged. From the initial enquiry to checking out I could not fault this hotel. Big thanks to Phil and crew for all their help making my best friends hen party an extremely enjoyable one. The rooms were clean and spacious, food was fab and breakfast was plentiful. The location was perfect, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Really nice Hotel, Really nice staff,great town. worth every penny. loved it here and will come back.
the bar is reasonably priced as is the menu, the hotel is very clean and all staff were friendly, from the reception to the cleaning staff.

well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polbreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,925 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing