We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable stay”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
IRELAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Kilkenny is a great spot and this hotel is a super location to see the area. Nice comfortable rooms, good dining area and a very comfortable bar area. Lovely approachable staff. I would certainly recommend the hotel as a base here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOH4LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    516
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
220
942
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable night at the Pembroke Hotel during our trip around Ireland. As we had never been to Kilkenny & we only had a short stay there, it was great to just step outside the door & have everything on our doorstep & we really loved Kilkenny! Pretty, vibrant & quirky & full of history & atmosphere!

Our hotel room was one of the biggest rooms we encountered during our trip around Ireland! It had a really nice feel to it! Light & airy with a very comfortable king bed & the wardrobe area was large with tons of storage space.The bathroom was also very big with good lighting.
Despite the central location, it was very quiet.
The staff were extremely friendly & welcoming & Courtney, on the reception desk, gave us great advice on a traditional pub nearby where we could get a good meal & listen to some traditional Irish music.
Our room & bed were so comfortable that we slept in later than usual the next day & didn't get down to breakfast till 9am & I'm not sure if it was because it was a bit later, but the breakfast was just very average. Not a lot of choice & certainly nothing to write home about! Having said that, it was included with our accommodation & it was adequate.
There was free parking on site! We had no problem getting a car park, although the parking area wasn't that big.
I would definitely stay here again! The hotel, apart from breakfast, to me, had a nice atmosphere with clean & comfortable accommodation & a quiet but central location.
Kilkenny castle is a very short walk from the hotel & is well worth a visit. The castle is very impressive & it's set in a lovely green parkland that would be a wonderful spot for a picnic or just a good walk around on a nice day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat-LakeMaquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Huge rooms, even by USA standards. Super clean, comfy and a great hair dryer (not the kind attached to the wall). Great location, walkable to everything downtown (castle, shopping, etc). Friendly staff and free parking. I'm already planning my next trip to Kilkenny and will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 302 and 304. One of them, can't remember which one, overlooked the street which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Cannot understand how this hotel is rated Number 1 in Kilkenny, does not deserve that rating. The staff at reception are excellent and the rooms are fine but there is nothing special about this hotel. Breakfast was poor, staff at breakfast were unhelpful and very slow, food is standard fare that you might expect from a cheap three star hotel but not at the prices the Pembroke is charging. Car park is pokey and far too small. There are far better hotels in Kilkenny. Pembroke is ar too expensive for the standard being offered.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Annaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped in Kilkenny at the Pembroke for 2 nights as a part of our 2 week tour of Ireland. This is a very comfortable modern hotel in the city center, yet quiet at night and with a very friendly professional staff. Very late the first evening, my wife suffered a medical emergency and needed physician care. The staff members at the hotel on duty were extraordinary in helping us cope with our problem and arranged for a "Doctors on Call" service to come to the hotel. Fortunately we were able to continue on with our tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice and always enjoyed it. It is close to the main centre but far away not to hear the nightlife. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are a good size. Breakfast was to order on mid week but buffet basis on weekend. There was something for everyone though.

I love Kilkenny and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel was in a superb position with a good secure carpark. All the staff were friendly, courteous and very informative. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good and filling. All town sights within easy walking district. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank redUkNw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing