We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Relaxing Hotel In Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most Relaxing Hotel In Town”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

As a regular visitor to Kilkenny over the last 30 years we have tried almost all of the hotels.In our experience this is the most relaxing place of all.Our kids have now grown up so the lack of a leisure centre is an advantage now as Irish hotels with Leisure Centres tend to turn in to creche's at any holiday time !!
The staff were superb & the room & breakfast to a high standard it's position is also excellent ,could not fault it,would recommend the Pembroke to anyone.Looking forward to going back already

Room Tip: Ask for a Castle View,very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich62Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Broderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am thrilled to hear that you consider us the most relaxing hotel in Kilkenny. I will pass your kind comments about our food and rooms to all our staff and to the kitchen.

I am looking forward to welcoming you on your return visit, which I hope will be in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    506
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
217
926
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Even though I love to travel I'd never been to Kilkenny before so when I decided for my girlfriends birthday to book a midweek break away for the two of us, I certainly made the right choice. From the moment we arrived until we left I've never been able to relax so much as I did at the Pembroke Hotel. It's hotels and staff like this that really make Ireland such a brilliant holiday destination. The staff from the receptionists to the bar staff were all superb. Coming from a tourism & hotel background I really appreciated the sincerity of the staff who I could tell enjoyed working there. The hotel was spotless and on our arrival the room was decorated lovely for my girlfriend with flower petals on the bed and two towel swans making a loveheart as well. The package included a packed lunch with our cycle trip but we were unable to take it with us on the day so very kindly they gave us two complimentary bottles of water at my request and offered to give us lunch the following day at the bar. If you've never been to Kilkenny the Pembroke is definitely the way to go to enjoying what the city has to offer. It's close to town, plenty of ample parking and brilliant facilities to match. I'll be back again for sure. Keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room overlooking the north tower of Kilkenny Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Broderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Patrick,

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated.

I am pleased you had such a positive experience and that we had the opportunity to help you relax and unwind with our high level of customer service. I do hope your girlfriend enjoyed celebrating her birthday in Kilkenny and experienced everything the city has to offer. The cycling trips are a great way to discover Kilkenny in a unique way.

I look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend again soon.

Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Two of my children and I stayed one night at this hotel. It is such a relaxing hotel; from the moment I parked my car merely steps away from the side entrance until we departed I felt at home. Staff were lovely and knew area well to advise us on area. Food was very reasonable in the restaurant and very wholesome. Bedroom was very clean and so cosy. Kids are very welcome.
The location is great as you are only a minutes walk from the castle and the main shopping area is close also. There are plenty of restaurants on this street. Can recommend the Indian next door.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night with a few of my friends and my baby. The hotel is in a very central location and we were lucky enough to get one of the onsite parking spaces. The girl at reception was very friendly. We were worried about noise when we saw a lot of stags and hens in the foyer but the hotel was extremely quiet at night time. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. I think if we are going to travel to Kilkenny in the future we would definately consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very early but were able to check in which was great. Lovely hotel, spacious, clean rooms. Very polite and helpful staff. Free parking. central location so no need for taxis. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just back from a weekend stay at the Pembroke hotel. Exceptional service from the staff, everything from the warm welcome at reception, to the helpful domestic staff, bar and food staff. Could not have asked for more. Even during some very busy breakfast service, the staff had a smile on their face and were very accomodating. Rooms clean,spacious and comfortable. Food excellent. Central location, and a great little shop shutterbug across the road, ladies beware if you love vintage, sequins and sparkle, you may think you have arrived in heaven.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Broderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted that you had such a warm welcome and an enjoyable stay with us over the busy St. Patrick's Day weekend and I hope you enjoyed the many events taking place.

Kilkenny is home to a range of unique shops and boutiques, some of which are right on out doorstep as you found and I'm glad you had the chance to visit them! There's something for everyone here!

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

New modern hotel in a central location. Complimentary parking. Good size rooms and friendly staff - would recommend for sightseeing and nightlife in city centre
No leisure centre on site but access available to nearby one
Did not eat here but friends did have breakfast which was good. Rate on trivago much lower than hotel direct rate

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
735 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing