We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Would definately stay again”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Would definately stay again”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Really lovely hotel.
Staff were professional and welcoming. Really attentive also and helpful.
Stayed here for a friends birthday and the hotel rooms were clean, modern and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great and the food in the bar also looked lovely. Would definately stay again if I was in Kilkenny - also in a very central location. Only one thing could be improved and thats the parking, but if you get there early on day of check in it shouldnt be an issue,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicmarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    517
    101
    36
    9
See reviews for
220
943
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Lovely hotel really good value and the rooms were very big and very clean, the decor was what you would expect in a 4 star rated hotel and I would not look elsewhere when I return to kilkenny. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening but the breakfast was really good and the location was perfect just 2 mins walk from the castle grounds and main shopping streets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was one of a group of ladies who stayed for a weekend in November.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The food was very good and the accommodation very clean.
I would reccommend this hotel for a visit too KIlkenney city as it is very centrally located.

Room Tip: Arrive eraly to avail of off street parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is right in the center of Kilkenny, next to the castle.

There is a parking, and if it is full, another one (so you can always be sure to have space to park)

The rooms are very big, very clean, and the beds are confortable.

There is a large choice for breakfast (buffet)

Maybe a bit expensive..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Atmosphere: Cold and unwelcoming. More like a Public Bar than Hotel Bar.
Staff: Inattentive, uncaring and indifferent.
Service: Very poor despite being well staffed and few customers. However staff and Manager/Owner did pay special attention to known customers. We had to ask our waiter to stay with us as we choose our sweet as it had already taken over an hour to have 2 courses. We were not offered coffee or even once approached to see if everything was to our satisfaction.
Menu: Limited. Starter: Carrot Soup served with 2 slices of brown bread and butter or nothing. Main: Roast Pork which was “Dish of the Day” was lukewarm, unimaginative and poorly presented. My friends Fried Fish was broken in half. Dessert: Miniature Trifle with fresh cream, my friend Meringue with fresh cream. Both dishes were stored on the bar counter, uncovered and at room temperature.
Overall: A poor introduction with Promotional Vouchers to Lunch or evening Meal at this 4 Star Hotel. I would not promote this hotel to my relatives or friends or visit again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your lunch did not meet the standards expected and we will carefully consider the issues raised.

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit as the feedback is important to us.

In November we keep our menu simple as it is a quiet month and also during these quiet times we give trainees a little responsibility. This is managed, however there can be challenges. Our staff are generally seen as friendly and attentive, but clearly you did not have this experience and the overall length of time was unacceptable. I have reviewed the issues with all waiting staff and duty managers.

The deserts were kept on a chilled board, which is specially designed for the purpose. Being more like a Public Bar that a Hotel bar would be an aspiration for many a hotel, however, we do wish to be warm and welcoming.

It is unfortunate that you didn’t complain to management at the time and the issue would have been resolved, however, I do hope that you will visit again, so that you may enjoy our hotel as we wish to present it.

Warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a near perfect stay in this lovely hotel. The Pembroke is fantastically situated for the whole town. The food was good - we only ate the bar menu but that was lovely, breakfasts varied and good. All the staff were excellent; unfailingly cheerful and welcoming and seemed very proud of their hotel. It was fascinating to talk to the manager (I think) about the history of the garage Statham's (the name of the bar) and model-T Fords, and top class motor racing. That made sense of the decor in the bar!

here were a couple of glitches in our room (bulb broken in guest light and problems with instructions for safe) both were dealt with within 5 minutes of telling reception. We were visiting on business but the Pembroke made business a pleasure. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently brought my fiancé on a romantic weekend break to Kilkenny and was pleasantly surprised how accessible the city is from Dublin. I don’t usually post feedback on hotels we stay in but I feel the attentiveness of the staff in the Pembroke Hotel deserves a mention. The hotel itself is only a stone’s throw from the hustle and bustle of the town centre, which we sampled on the Friday. After a beautiful breakfast, we strolled around the wonderful castle which is right next door to the hotel on the Saturday. The hotel itself is also a great place for a relaxed romantic meal (I have to recommend the Connemara lamb), followed by a few (too many) night caps in the elegant bar out front.
We effectively rolled two weekends into one on our trip to Kilkenny and would both highly recommend the Pembroke Hotel as a great weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing