We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel,good value.”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was one of a group of ladies who stayed for a weekend in November.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The food was very good and the accommodation very clean.
I would reccommend this hotel for a visit too KIlkenney city as it is very centrally located.

Room Tip: Arrive eraly to avail of off street parking
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,779)
There are newer reviews for Pembroke Kilkenny
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is right in the center of Kilkenny, next to the castle.

There is a parking, and if it is full, another one (so you can always be sure to have space to park)

The rooms are very big, very clean, and the beds are confortable.

There is a large choice for breakfast (buffet)

Maybe a bit expensive..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Atmosphere: Cold and unwelcoming. More like a Public Bar than Hotel Bar.
Staff: Inattentive, uncaring and indifferent.
Service: Very poor despite being well staffed and few customers. However staff and Manager/Owner did pay special attention to known customers. We had to ask our waiter to stay with us as we choose our sweet as it had already taken over an hour to have 2 courses. We were not offered coffee or even once approached to see if everything was to our satisfaction.
Menu: Limited. Starter: Carrot Soup served with 2 slices of brown bread and butter or nothing. Main: Roast Pork which was “Dish of the Day” was lukewarm, unimaginative and poorly presented. My friends Fried Fish was broken in half. Dessert: Miniature Trifle with fresh cream, my friend Meringue with fresh cream. Both dishes were stored on the bar counter, uncovered and at room temperature.
Overall: A poor introduction with Promotional Vouchers to Lunch or evening Meal at this 4 Star Hotel. I would not promote this hotel to my relatives or friends or visit again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your lunch did not meet the standards expected and we will carefully consider the issues raised.

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit as the feedback is important to us.

In November we keep our menu simple as it is a quiet month and also during these quiet times we give trainees a little responsibility. This is managed, however there can be challenges. Our staff are generally seen as friendly and attentive, but clearly you did not have this experience and the overall length of time was unacceptable. I have reviewed the issues with all waiting staff and duty managers.

The deserts were kept on a chilled board, which is specially designed for the purpose. Being more like a Public Bar that a Hotel bar would be an aspiration for many a hotel, however, we do wish to be warm and welcoming.

It is unfortunate that you didn’t complain to management at the time and the issue would have been resolved, however, I do hope that you will visit again, so that you may enjoy our hotel as we wish to present it.

Warm regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a near perfect stay in this lovely hotel. The Pembroke is fantastically situated for the whole town. The food was good - we only ate the bar menu but that was lovely, breakfasts varied and good. All the staff were excellent; unfailingly cheerful and welcoming and seemed very proud of their hotel. It was fascinating to talk to the manager (I think) about the history of the garage Statham's (the name of the bar) and model-T Fords, and top class motor racing. That made sense of the decor in the bar!

here were a couple of glitches in our room (bulb broken in guest light and problems with instructions for safe) both were dealt with within 5 minutes of telling reception. We were visiting on business but the Pembroke made business a pleasure. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZanX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently brought my fiancé on a romantic weekend break to Kilkenny and was pleasantly surprised how accessible the city is from Dublin. I don’t usually post feedback on hotels we stay in but I feel the attentiveness of the staff in the Pembroke Hotel deserves a mention. The hotel itself is only a stone’s throw from the hustle and bustle of the town centre, which we sampled on the Friday. After a beautiful breakfast, we strolled around the wonderful castle which is right next door to the hotel on the Saturday. The hotel itself is also a great place for a relaxed romantic meal (I have to recommend the Connemara lamb), followed by a few (too many) night caps in the elegant bar out front.
We effectively rolled two weekends into one on our trip to Kilkenny and would both highly recommend the Pembroke Hotel as a great weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

before you travel do ring ahead and check if heating is working.....i stayed in oct and the heating was not working in two rooms....also seemed cold in the reception area......note from other users....they got same cold experience..............no mention on check out and no reduction for one star show.......................

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for a hen, three of us shared a triple room at a cost €240 which I thought was pretty excessive!

There is a serious lack of parking which I wouldn't have expected as the hotel is so pricey! Location is perfect though!

We checked in, staff were lovely, ordered our wake up call. The room was lovely and spacious but there seemed to be a few stains on the carpet. The room was pretty cold so before we went out for the night we turned on the heating.

After our day and night of activities, we arrived back to the hotel around 2.30am and the room was FREEZING! We called down to let them know the heating wasn't working and the guy we spoke to kept telling us it was fixed when it wasn't. Eventually he brought up an electric heater.

The next morning, we didn't receive our wake up call which was pretty disappointing. We just happened to wake up and made it down to brekkie on time. The breakfast was delicious I have to say.

On checking out, we complained to the manager and he couldn't have been more helpful! Overall, I wouldn't stay again to be honest, the staff were all lovely and helpful but for the price we paid I wasn't overly impressed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aoifeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
The rate agreed with your group was €80 per person for B&B averaged over mostly twin rooms, with some triples. The total for a twin at €160 on a busy night, represents reasonable value.

We have various parking options with 90 spaces in 2 private car parks. You perhaps formed your opinion with the sight of one car park being busy, as you didn’t state that you didn’t get parking.

I am sorry that you didn’t get your call and experienced heating difficulties. One of the Air-conditioning units was working at reduced capacity that night. The reduced capacity would have been sufficient, but for a sharp drop in temperatures on a night that the hotel was full.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and that our staff and the duty manager couldn’t have been more helpful and I hope that you may return and have the kind of experience we would wish for.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,947 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $99 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing