We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Weekend Break”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Weekend Break”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently brought my fiancé on a romantic weekend break to Kilkenny and was pleasantly surprised how accessible the city is from Dublin. I don’t usually post feedback on hotels we stay in but I feel the attentiveness of the staff in the Pembroke Hotel deserves a mention. The hotel itself is only a stone’s throw from the hustle and bustle of the town centre, which we sampled on the Friday. After a beautiful breakfast, we strolled around the wonderful castle which is right next door to the hotel on the Saturday. The hotel itself is also a great place for a relaxed romantic meal (I have to recommend the Connemara lamb), followed by a few (too many) night caps in the elegant bar out front.
We effectively rolled two weekends into one on our trip to Kilkenny and would both highly recommend the Pembroke Hotel as a great weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    534
    107
    36
    10
See reviews for
231
981
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

before you travel do ring ahead and check if heating is working.....i stayed in oct and the heating was not working in two rooms....also seemed cold in the reception area......note from other users....they got same cold experience..............no mention on check out and no reduction for one star show.......................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for a hen, three of us shared a triple room at a cost €240 which I thought was pretty excessive!

There is a serious lack of parking which I wouldn't have expected as the hotel is so pricey! Location is perfect though!

We checked in, staff were lovely, ordered our wake up call. The room was lovely and spacious but there seemed to be a few stains on the carpet. The room was pretty cold so before we went out for the night we turned on the heating.

After our day and night of activities, we arrived back to the hotel around 2.30am and the room was FREEZING! We called down to let them know the heating wasn't working and the guy we spoke to kept telling us it was fixed when it wasn't. Eventually he brought up an electric heater.

The next morning, we didn't receive our wake up call which was pretty disappointing. We just happened to wake up and made it down to brekkie on time. The breakfast was delicious I have to say.

On checking out, we complained to the manager and he couldn't have been more helpful! Overall, I wouldn't stay again to be honest, the staff were all lovely and helpful but for the price we paid I wasn't overly impressed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aoifeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
The rate agreed with your group was €80 per person for B&B averaged over mostly twin rooms, with some triples. The total for a twin at €160 on a busy night, represents reasonable value.

We have various parking options with 90 spaces in 2 private car parks. You perhaps formed your opinion with the sight of one car park being busy, as you didn’t state that you didn’t get parking.

I am sorry that you didn’t get your call and experienced heating difficulties. One of the Air-conditioning units was working at reduced capacity that night. The reduced capacity would have been sufficient, but for a sharp drop in temperatures on a night that the hotel was full.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and that our staff and the duty manager couldn’t have been more helpful and I hope that you may return and have the kind of experience we would wish for.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent (Garden of England)
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is rated a four star, but the experience was very much a package holiday four star. Our room was large and pleasant, but the heating didn't work. On complaining about this they promised to fix it, but didn't. Complaining again, we were moved to another room where the heating also didn't work. Eventually they admitted that the heating was not working anywhere in the hotel. If so, then why did they move us?

Eventually they gave us a portable radiator.

Breakfast was standard Irish fare, which is to say pretty good.

Very much a modern production line "four star" with little real character. Car park out the back fills up quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JWR_EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you experienced heating difficulties. One of the Air-conditioning units was working at reduced capacity that night and unfortunately you were moved to another room served by the same unit. The reduced capacity would have been sufficient, but for a sharp drop in temperatures on a night that the hotel was full. There is no question of problems with the heating throughout. Independent units serve a small number of rooms.

I am pleased that you found your rooms to be pleasant and large and that you had a pretty good breakfast.

We have loads of parking with 90 spaces in 2 private car parks.

We work hard to deliver a good experience and I am sorry that your experience was disappointing.

Yours Sincerely,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in the Pembroke Kilkenny midweek for 1 Night on business. All staff that I came into contact were very professional and attentive. Room was very spacious and very clean. After a full day of driving I was looking forward to a decent sleep. The comfortable bed certainly sorted that out. Free WIFI and Car Parking was an added bonus. Would certainly come back, but would like to get back at the weekend and for leisure purposes. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other colleagues or friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent all round

Free Car park.
Free wifi.
Friendly staff
Good location
rooms are great
Food quality and service is brilliant.
Maybe more of a variety, however the menu suited us on the night...................

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronan311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend break at the Pembroke Hotel,the Hotel is in a fantastic location,there are plenty of bars,restaurants,and of course shopping
within easy reach of the Hotel.The rooms are of a good size and very comfortable and the breakfast was really nice with a wide variety to choose from.We had a minor problem on our first nights stay and the Manager on duty Sean Walkins was so helpful and sorted it immediately,he is a true gentleman and so professional,and may I say an asset to the Pembroke.We really enjoyed our trip to Kilkenny and I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing