We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here a while back and found everything to be fantastic. A great warm welcome on arrival lovely room and very friendly experince overall. The only downside was that we were only there for one night. Definately recommend and will be back for a longer stay next time

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    524
    103
    36
    9
See reviews for
224
955
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just stayed at the Pembroke one night but found the room to be spacious and clean. Definitely an above average room. The breakfast was good with plenty of variety! Good location and overall the service at the hotel was good too. The parking lot is a bit smallish so if you get a space, keep it and walk the city as much as possible. Kilkenny Castle is very close. Overall we were very happy with our stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you were very happy with the hotel and location with its proximity to the Kilkenny castle.

I hope we will see you again, but next time don't worry about the car parking. Most guests get onsite parking and in addition we have a second private Carpark within 2 minutes walk.

kind regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great location but does not deserve 4 stars! We had a very noisy street room
& were woken up at 5 am by some guy trying to get into our room! Perfect choice for hens/stags but stay away if you looking for a romantic getaway! Way too expensive for what you get & relative to other hotels in KK!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your acknowledgement of our great location however I am disappointed that your sleep was disrupted.

The street outside is normally very quiet as although we are in the city centre we are lucky not to have any nightclubs or takeaways near us. Apart from the guy who mistakenly went to your room, you made no complaints about noise from the hotel. Unfortunately for you 2 extremely rare things seem to have happened which no reasonable management could prevent. Noise on a quiet street and somebody going to the wrong room.

We are a good choice for groups or individuals , but have a strict dress code and management to ensure that any guest or guests do not take from the enjoyment of others.

We believe we offer excellent value , especially when the free private car parking, free wifi throughout and the overall quality and location is considered.

I hope that you may return and would be delighted if you contacted me so that I could ensure that you can be guided to a competitive package, a good nights sleep and the type of experience we work for.

warm regards,

Paul

pbroderick@pembrokekilkenny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was amazed by how well we loved it.. I can't explain how nice and welcoming all the staff are.. A fantastic run hotel and great value for money.. The lady with blonde hair at reception was so friendly upon check in and was very friendly.. The breakfast staff were so kind and welcoming and happy which was great to see first thing in the morning.. Food was amazing and I had the most brilliant night ever.. Would highly recommended this hotel to any body staying.. We also had the best view of the castle from our room

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Nicole

Thank you so much for your outstanding review of The Pembroke.

I am delighted that you got to experience all that we had to offer.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Top class hotel. I have stayed here three times on business, and once with my wife & kids for a long weekend. It's great for both business and pleasure. Super location - very central, walking distance to anywhere in Kilkenny. Safe parking, super staff, good rooms, great restaurant, nice bar. Nothing not to like. Perfect wireless. I used their meeting rooms twice, well equipped. Mostly I liked the staff and overall good vibes; also they're not trying to hit you with petty extras for papers, wireless, parking, etc - which drives me nuts elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanOSull_Irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were in Kilkenny during the Cats Laugh Festival in June and were fortunate to get a room at the Pembrooke over the weekend. It’s in a wonderful location—near all the sites. Having a place to park the car was an added bonus. The rooms were clean, although our showerhead was broken. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida-Traveler-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time for posting your kind review.

The Cat Laughs weekend is one of our favorites in Kilkenny and always creates a great buzz around the city.

We hope to see you back again next year.

Warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had chosen this hotel in advance, but not booked. In spite of its very high standards the cost was very low. Absolutely worth every penny and more. Why the restaurant was not more frequented we do no understand. Wine and food was delicious. Free parking space, 2 minutes walking to the center and castle. At first glance seeing the modern building in an old environment I was bit doubtful, but we left the Pembroke hotel with nothing but positive memories.
Stay there, eat there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marthinsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Marthinsen

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experiences at The Pembroke.

I am delighted to hear that you left with positive memories of The Hotel and our beautiful city.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Property: Pembroke Kilkenny
Address: The Pembroke Hotel 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing