We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and bright”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my friend on Saturday 5th May. We booked a superior room and it was £190 for the night. When we arrived we were greeted with a very warm welcome by the receptionist who was very helpful. we didn't realise that there was a music festival onion Kilkenny that weekend. We went to our room which was very spacious and had a very comfy bed and well appointed bathroom. There were only two minor points that didn't make the stay flawless. Unfortunately our room looked onto a bar which had extremely loud music. It felt like the drummer was in our room. We raised this with the receptionist the next day and she was able to alter the price of the room slightly. There were also no bathrobes, which was one of the perks of the superior rooms. Apart from this it was a very comfortable stay. Breakfast was excellent. It was a full and busy hotel that weekend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Una D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear Una

I am pleased that you had a very good stay overall and sorry that you had two minor problems. It was fair to reduce your rate as the full offer of the superior room wasn’t provided. We are located in a very good area in a central location and luckily surrounded by well run bars and restaurants. The music you heard was from the hotel across the street as our hotel was designed to ensure that there is no escape of music from the bar or events room to the bedrooms. 90% of our rooms overlook private gardens and heritage sites and the street is generally very quite. Most visitors on the May Bank holiday are in town for the music festival and the music can be a bit more noticeable and street orientated.

I hope you might return again and enjoy a good nights sleep and maybe just a little music!

kind regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

Excellent central hotel ,I have stayed here a number of times ,bar is lovely with good food and staff throughout the hotel are so very helpful

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellymgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed for 1 night - room was perfect. Staff were fantastic - so helpful. Will deffo be returning,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel is No1 in Kilkenny and it deserves it's top ranking. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff both welcoming and informative. They gave us ideas of great places to eat (make sure you try the Cafe Sol... Just a sort walk away) and also 'must see' sights in the area. free wifi is always a bonus. This hotel is great value for money

If you haven't travelled to this town before you only REALLY appreciate the free parking once you arrive! The narrow streets are packed and to find the free car park tucked away behind the hotel is a godsend!

If it is a fine evening take time to stroll in the gardens that are situated behind the hotel & next o the castle. It is so peaceful with the bird song and scents from the garden enhancing the experience.

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the front of the hotel - it was large and also caught the beautiful afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at the Pembroke for just one night with a board deal voucher.It was excellent value as the hotel is very nice, clean and modern.Its very close to everything just 2 minutes walk into town. The reception staff were very friendly on arrival and also were the restaurant staff for breakfast the next morning. There was a good selection at breakfast and although it was buffet style everything seemed very fresh.. Would stay here again..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysforever40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We had a great triple room and included breakfast and free parking. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durham2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I could not praise this hotel enough. Everything was perfect. Nice, warm, cosy rooms with lots of space, very clean hotel, great food in restaurant, free parking, free wifi and right in the centre of Kilkenny. I would gladly come back to this hotel again and again as i had a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 E40W, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $89 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing