We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel, great staff”
Review of Pembroke Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Kilkenny
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Quite simply if you want a night or 2 stay at a very clean, well run, comfortable in Kilkenny then The Pembroke is ideal.

I stay in a lot of hotels on business and this is one of the best in its price range.

The staff are as polite here as anywhere else i have ever stayed, they couldnt do enough to help.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel and its' staff. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will return to us again the next time you are in Kilkenny.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,503 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed in the Pembroke last weekend with a group of girls.
Rooms were great, in a perfect location, hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Trish in reservations was so helpful, as were Simon and Keith.

Loved the hotel and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbdDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your thanks to Trish, Simon and Keith.
I hope to see you back again soon
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

this is a nice hotel in a great location the staff are so nice you would want to take then home... The food is amazing and the breakfast is to die for all I can say if you have put a bad review about this hotel you have never traveled. Ohh we stayed with kids 2 under 2yrs old and 2 teen agers.

Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank keithuk1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you come back and visit us soon again.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while on our self-driving tour of Ireland! The staff was friendly, and the room was great! We enjoyed the location, and it was a well-kept hotel!

The one TINY negative for us was that the beds were a bit too soft. However, that is a personal preference, so to many that is probably a positive.

We would DEFINITELY return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHamricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your driving tour went well for you. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Of the 7 places we stayed in Ireland this was our favorite. It is reasonably priced and located in the center of town within walking distance to everything. The building is modern and extremely clean, the staff professional and welcoming and the rooms spacious and comfortable.

There was adequate storage space and some nice extras including a room safe and coffee/tea fixings. The TV was fine and the wifi worked great. We appreciated the ample free parking in the secured lot behind the hotel. We slept very soundly with no street noise.

Breakfast was buffet style and had a good selection of options.

Kilkenny is a very picturesque town. Do not overlook St. Canice's Cathedral which is not only very visitor friendly, it also has 1 of only 2 round towers in all of Ireland that you can climb. The views from the top are spectacular. Also, check out the artisan silver jewelry for sale based on symbols within the cathedral. Prices are great, quality amazing and all proceeds go to the church.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We do pride ourselves on our staff and our service so it is alway lovely to hear our guests opinions.
I am delighted you enjoyed Kilkenny and I look forward to welcoming you back soon again hopefully.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The Pembroke is ideally situated for anyone planning a trip to Kilkenny. Great value for money, the hotel is contempory and the rooms are everything you need - clean, spaceous and bright. With free onsite parking you're minutes from everything and no car required. When in Kilkenny, you have to try the new road train tour. It lasts 25 mins, takes you round the sights and is lots of fun! It leaves from outside the castle every hour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank TOD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbroderick, Manager at Pembroke Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay in Kilkenny and in the Pembroke Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel was obviously renovated several years ago. You can see the wear and tear, but everything works fine and is very clean, which is more important. Our room was very quiet. The staff is exceptionally friendly. They really try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We would pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charly255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Kilkenny

Address: 11 Patrick Street, Kilkenny R95 E40W, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $92 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pembroke Kilkenny is a 4 star boutique hotel in the heart of Kilkenny City. Acting as a gateway to Ireland’s Ancient East, Kilkenny is a wonderful city buzzing with history and culture. You will find us on Kilkenny’s most exclusive street, right in the centre of the city. Offering spacious 4 star rooms in Ireland, and a peaceful charm throughout, Pembroke Kilkenny is a welcoming hotel and events venue with a comfortable ambience and friendly team that puts your needs first. Our hotel is near Kilkenny Castle, Butler House, and the Kilkenny Design Centre so you will never be short of things to do. On top of all of that, Pembroke Kilkenny is also just a few minutes from the main High Street - prime location without the noise! Pull up a chair and join us for a hearty meal, morning coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon, dinner or evening drinks at Statham’s Bar & Restaurant. With traditional hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, Statham’s is a great place to wine, dine, and unwind. It is also a fantastic private events venue in Kilkenny perfect for celebrations with family and friends. We have live music to entertain our guests every weekend. Pembroke Kilkenny is also home to Mint, our very own medispa. Whether you want a quick file and polish, laser treatments, skincare, or just a spot of pampering with a massage, facial, body treatment, and signature packages, we have just the thing for you. 11 Patrick Street is home to our Kilkenny corporate and conference facilities, featuring state-of-the-art equipment and high standards of personal service. Bespoke corporate packages and services are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing