We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosquil House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosquil House
Ranked #4 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Phil and Rhoda ( and Lottie the Lab ) could not have been more gracious or accommodating. The breakfast is to die for. The rooms are spacious and spotless with great bathrooms. We would certainly stay here again. It is a little of a walk to town center, but that's good for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    59
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
268
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

All I can say is if you want an amazing stay, book here. First of all, it has the look feel and atmosphere of a boutique hotel. The rooms are beautiful and actually have tubs, not just showers. It is a great location close to everything Kilkenny has to offer. Breakfast was delicious with your choice of hot options to go alongside a continental selection. We had a long exhausting day and staying here that evening made the day all the better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was the first of 5 B&B's that we stayed at during our trip to Ireland and what a great way to start out the trip. Phil and Rhoda were wonderful from the moment we arrived. They provided lots of helpful information and were very warm and welcoming hosts. You can tell that they really enjoy running Rosquil House and that makes all the difference in your stay there. The breakfast was so delicious, everything was fresh and prepared wonderfully. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had every amenity you could possibly need to make your stay great. I would highly recommend this to any friends or family members traveling to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Fantastic B&B. Warm, friendly, and well-furnished. Rosquil House was an absolutely great place to stay. Rhoda was very helpful and recommended several great places to see and eat in the area. Phil cooked an outstanding breakfast the following morning. Room was big, bed was a bit hard; but that's personal preference.

Wish we could have stayed longer - they were engaging, friendly, and eager to assist with anything we needed! When we make it to Kilkenny again; this will be the first choice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonicreducer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Rosquil House is a very nice, well maintained B&B in Kilkenny. It is run by a very nice couple and the breakfast was wonderful. Phil made a wonderful omlet and the pastries were homemade as well as the jams and jellies. We should have stayed a second night but we were on a schedule.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I can't even begin to say enough nice things about Phil and Rhoda. From the minute we walked in the door, we were greeted with nothing but the best. The house is spotless, the breakfast was delicious, and the location is a 30-40 minute walk to the heart of Kilkenny. Phil gave us a map of the city and circled the best pubs and local music spots, and we always felt safe walking back and forth. There was plenty of off-street parking at the house, and the location is convenient for visiting Waterford, the Rock of Cashel, and Glendalough.

The best part about our stay was the genuine kindness of our hosts. They even helped us rescue a little stray dog that was running in traffic late at night. After a trip to the vet and numerous phone calls to the local radio station the next day, they were able to reunite the dog with his owner.

If you are looking for a wonderful Irish experience in a historical town, Rosquil House in Kilkenny is a must-stay.

Here are the GPS Coordinates that we used: 52°39'45"N,7°15'02"W

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underwater337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place is the best. Huge room, it was spotless and had everything you want. The breakfast is delicious and comforting. High praises especially to Rhoda: when the taxi didn't show up, she hopped in her car and raced me to the train station in time to catch my train. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jholden2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,667 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
735 reviews
11.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosquil House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosquil House

Property: Rosquil House
Address: Rosquil House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built seven bedroom ensuite guest accommodation, Rosquil House is situated within easy walking distance of the city centre and Kilkenny Golf Club. Amenities include lounge, disabled access, smoking patio and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rosquil House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosquil House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing