We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Kilkenny”
Review of Rosquil House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosquil House
Ranked #5 of 75 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Rosquil House is a lovely B&B; good location - within walking distance to restaurants & pubs. Rhoda & her husband were very helpful in helping us with our Wi-Fi connection. The room was very clean, good sized room & bath; downstairs is a lovely sitting room; but the highlight was breakfast. Omelets cooked to order, homemade scones & granola, spiced pears & plums. Yummy!! Their dog Lottie is a doll too.
Good value, very pleasant, will stay again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back - away from the road. No road noise. Nice large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellalikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 570 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Rosquil House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jenny was an incredible host, providing a truly warm and welcoming atmosphere for our entire stay. Phil cooked wonderful breakfasts each morning with lots of choices amongst the cold and hot offerings. Our room was immaculately clean and spacious. The "ten minute" walk into town was more like 15-20 depending on how fast you walk, but it was on an easily walked route along the river. The only complaint was that we could not get Wi-Fi in our room. We had to go out in the lobby to get it. Other than that (a minor consideration given all of the positives) it was really a perfect stay! We would highly recommend it to anyone who doesn't need to be right in the town center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent B&B, Room was spacious ,well furnished and very clean as were Bathroom and Shower. Great variety on the breakfast menu, and very tasty.too. Good location, within walking distance of city centre. .Welcoming and friendly hosts, who kept us well informed. .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87NPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very good B&B - we enjoyed our stay. Rooms are very nice and clean and the breakfast is wonderful. Good location to tour Kilkenny City - a little walk to town but nice that you don't get all the city traffic noise. Loved the dog Lottie too. Good Job!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've recently returned from a very relaxed 2 night stay at Rosquil House.
We had Room 1 (at the front of the house), which was spacious and comfortable with a large double bed and a nice bathroom.
Although Rosquil is situated on a busy road we were not disturbed by passing traffic, and the walk to and from the city on average took about 25 minutes each way. As there was plenty of off street parking we were able to leave our car and walk everywhere.
The cooked breakfasts were nicely presented and very tasty!
Jenny was warm and welcoming and we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwopenceSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Rosquil House.The room was nicely furnished with everything we needed. Rhonda, Phil and Jenny were excellent hosts and gave us lots of great advice about what to see and where to eat. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwennyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed with Rhoda and Phil twice. They are fine people and run a first class establishment. Modern, ample rooms, and a killer breakfast! They could not be nicer. Easy walk to downtown. Their daughter, Jenny, is lovely. There is no question we will stay with them again, ... and again! Tops!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank zantepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,063 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
453 reviews
11.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#8 of 75 in Kilkenny
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosquil House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosquil House

Address: Rosquil House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $96 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built seven bedroom ensuite guest accommodation, Rosquil House is situated within easy walking distance of the city centre and Kilkenny Golf Club. Amenities include lounge, disabled access, smoking patio and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Rosquil House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosquil House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing