We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosquil House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosquil House
Ranked #4 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Drysdale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just spent a night with our gracious hosts Phil and Rhoda. They have a really beautiful home and set out to ensure their guests are treated royally. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very clean. The dining room, complete with linen cloths and napkins, was a perfect backdrop to a first class breakfast. Phil was very helpful with local information. Could not fault the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    59
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
268
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
211 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had three nights at Rosquil House recently. We stayed in a disabled access room so it may not have been typical, but while it was not particularly beautiful it was large and comfortable and at the back of the house, so it was very quiet. The bathroom was also large. Our only problem was that we had a lot of trouble with the toilet flush, which was not efficient. Everything was clean and orderly, and the owners were extremely efficient, friendly and very helpful.

The property is a fifteen minute walk from the centre on a busy road, and has no garden so it is more of a sleeping place than a place for relaxing during the day. Having said that, there is a very nice lounge that guests can use if they wish. Most of the restaurants are a good walk or even a drive away except for the Newpark Hotel, which is just up the road and serves quite good food.

The highlight of the stay was breakfast which included home cooked fruit preserves, delicious muesli and all kinds of hot cooked breakfast choices.

This property would be a good choice for people passing through Kilkenny or for those wanting to avoid the noise and crowding in the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very nice stay on our way to Dingle. Very quiet location and within walking distance to a wonderful downtown area.

We visited the castle at night and enjoyed watching numerous Hen Parties pub hopping.

A nice visit in a nice town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatorJoe_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in July when the weather was so hot it felt like we were in Portugal. We had a room which was bigger than most hotel rooms we've stayed in with luxurious king size bed, very spacious bathroom, tea/coffee facilities, ice bucket on request and loads of space to move about. We had a ground floor room with bay window area looking onto the road and I will request this room again when I return. Rhoda gave us a lot of information about restaurants, places to visit and was so welcoming and friendly. Phil also made our stay so enjoyable and we enjoyed his chats at breakfast. We had a great choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and a choice of whatever cooked breakfast we wanted from fry to omelettes to smoked salmon. It was tremendous and all so fresh with some home grown herbs thrown in. Thank you Phil and Rhoda for making our stay so enjoyable. Mairead and Paddy

Room Tip: First room on left on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballyclare
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed rosquil house a number of times when on business trips to Kilkenny superb room spotless quiet and comfortable and somewhere I highly recommend to all friends breakfast just great and the whole chatty friendly atmosphere makes rosquil a special place to stay it punches well above its weight and 10/15 minutes walk to city centre or use mick or seamus the in house recommended taxi drivers who know every spot around Kilkenny well done Rhoda see you soon hopefully

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonoftc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We only spent one night with Rhoda, it was lovely. We stayed in the family room as there was 3 of us. Everything was sparkling clean. Rhoda made us feel very welcome. In the morning she gave us a delicious warm breakfast as well as fruit, cereals and yohurt. More than we needed. Thank you Rhoda for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: For the WIFI, if it is important that you are online from your room, please just ask Rhoda for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG&BMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time..the full irish breakfastwas a real treat and Rhoda was a sweetheart. The walk was 10-15 which was really nothing. Dont miss out on the smithwicks brewery tour. Quaint lil town ...loved it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
11.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosquil House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosquil House

Property: Rosquil House
Address: Rosquil House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built seven bedroom ensuite guest accommodation, Rosquil House is situated within easy walking distance of the city centre and Kilkenny Golf Club. Amenities include lounge, disabled access, smoking patio and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rosquil House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosquil House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing