We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very, very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosquil House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosquil House
Ranked #4 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin 18
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very, very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I booked this accommodation in Kilkenny and was very pleasantly surprised by the presentation, cleanliness, hospitality and quality. Phil and Rhoda were very attentive to everybodys needs and the breakfast would beat most 5* hotels. The rates were very good for this level of accommodation. It is within an easy 15 minute walk of the shops and main attractions in Kilkenny. Well done Phil and Rhoda, I look forward to passing through Kilkenny again soon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Happyreviewer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    59
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
268
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skokie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This place was a little difficult to find. The homes and businesses on Castlecomer Road are not numbered and the street continues for a long distance. Once found we liked it very much.

There is off street parking, the rooms are clean, and a generous breakfast is included in the rate. There is wireless internet service, but the signal was weak in our room so we went to the dining area to use the internet. There is also a living room area were you might want to sit or read. A small television is in the rooms.

Kilkenny Castle is within walking distance. We like the walk along the river to the castle. It is scenic and very quiet.

The family which operates this b & b are very nice people. They gave us suggestions on where to eat while sightseeing and where to watch the All Ireland Hurling Championship match between Kilkenny and Galway while we were in town. They were also helpful is giving us directions to other places of interest in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tk4_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Whilst a little out from from the city centre (by car), a short cut by the river means it is only a 10 to 15 minute pleasant stroll into the centre. Rooms are spacious and decorated to a high modern quality. Very pleasant lounge area for guests to use and the breakfast room is bright and spacious with a high vaulted ceiling. Breakfasts were well presented and freshly made - Rhonda's cake is worth finding room for after a hearty irish.

Phil was very welcoming at check in - on hand with a map to help you find your bearings, only too happy to point out key attractions and make food recommendations before showing us to our room and offering to help with luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Rosquil House is one of the charming, unexpected accidents that happens to you while on a great vacation. The hosts were very welcoming and extremely friendly. The breakfasts were sensational (seriously good chefs)....try the cinnamon pears...and the accommodation was way beyond our expectation. The basics and the details were extremely high quality. We were pleased to meet dear Lotti, who added another wonderful dimension to this already warm family. STAY HERE if you're lucky enough to get a spot....you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed in Rosquil House every year when I visit Kilkenny for an annual golfing trip for the last five years. I can honestly say that it is an absolute pleasure to stay there and it never disappoints. Everyone I have recommended it to, has wholeheartedly agreed. The rooms are suberbly appointed, absolutely spotless with lovely comfortable beds and excellent en-suite bathrooms. Everything from an Iron, tea/coffee making facilities to hairdryers that really work, are available in your spacious room and the hosts, Rhoda and Phil cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is excellent, the choice and quality on offer would match any top hotel. Everything freshly cooked to your liking, I have no hesitation in highly recommending Rosquil House to anyone visiting Kilkenny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our family stayed at Rosquil House for one night while in Kilkenny. The B&B and our room were very clean with modern amenities. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable. Having stayed at other B&Bs in Ireland, in comparison, I would have to say the rooms and the house itself lacked character. Our room was on the first floor and had a shower. Everything was impeccable and clean and the beds were comfortable. But, with no artwork on the walls or home decor accessories anywhere, it didn't feel "homey". Breakfast was in a large room with lots of tables & chairs, but no "charm". Breakfast was very good. The offered all the cold choices such as cereals, yogurt, fruit and also hot items such as the "full Irish breakfast" or "salmon & eggs", etc. As long as it's not raining, it is a very pleasant short walk into town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessdewetagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My daughter and I spent our 2nd last night in Ireland at this very lovely B&B with Rhoda and Phil as hosts. Service was terrific as was the food and the location. Rhoda gave us directions to a great "local" pub for a pre dinner pint and then to Cafe Sol for a terrific dinner. The B&B is beautiful and very well appointed. It would rank as a 4-5 star hotel. Location is easy walking distance to downtown and Kilkenny Castle as well lovely walking along the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
11.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosquil House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosquil House

Property: Rosquil House
Address: Rosquil House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built seven bedroom ensuite guest accommodation, Rosquil House is situated within easy walking distance of the city centre and Kilkenny Golf Club. Amenities include lounge, disabled access, smoking patio and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rosquil House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosquil House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing