We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops!!!”
Review of Rosquil House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosquil House
Ranked #5 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tops!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for several nights in June. Not a flaw! Spotlessly new, clean, extremely hospitable, superb and attractive breakfast, and convenient location. It doesn't get any better than this! If I could only pronounce "Rosquil."

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank zantepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    61
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
136
273
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We spent a night with family at this B&B. The accommodations were fantastic. Location was great....we could walk to many sights in Kilkenny. The breakfast was fabulous! Our host and hostess were friendly and accommodating. If we ever get a chance to go back to Ireland, this B&B will definitely be one of our places to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

During our two week trip to Ireland (our first) we stayed in four B and B's. All were quite nice in their own way but Rosquil House is a real find. First of all the house itself is impressive. It is well designed and well decorated but in such a way that maintains clean lines and an uncluttered feeling.

Our room was at the front of the house(right across from the living room) and it was very roomy. The bathroom was very good size as well. Both were very clean and nicely decorated. After we checked in we had a chance to chat with Rhoda who was helpful and knowledgeable. Since we came in the late afternoon she made good dinner suggestions and gave us clear directions from the Rosquil House to the town center. That night we ate, drank Guinness and listened to music at Langton's Hotel and Bar. After the evening's entertainment we walked back to the B and B and had a good night's sleep.

The weather was not cooperative and it rained most of the time we were there but it staying at the Rosquil House made it cozy. The first breakfast we had were made to order omlettes. Rhoda had received eggs from her cousin's nearby farm so the omlettes tasted terrific. The rest of the spread was very impressive with wonderful fresh fruit, cereals, baked goods and breads and fresh juices. I'm relegated to drinking decaf coffee which wasn't always easy to find in Ireland (and when I did it wasn't always good )but Rhoda makes an excellent French Press pot of decaf coffee.

On this day my wife took the train to Waterford and I stayed in Killkenny as there were castles, cathedrals, towers, abbeys and other historic buildings to explore. She enjoyed her day in Waterford and I enjoyed my day in Killkenny. We met up at the train station and had an early dinner at a pub called the Playwright where I learned why I hadn't seen corned beef and cabbage on any menu anywhere the entire time we were in Ireland. The young staff at the Playwright thought I was joking when I told them that on St. Patrick's Day in the U.S. lots of people eat corned beef and cabbage because that's what we thought they ate in Ireland. Three out of the four staff people, all born in Ireland said they had never had that dish.

Anyway back to the Rosquil House. the second morning's breakfast was as wonderful as the first morning and we really hated to leave as we were heading back to Dublin to begin our trip back to the U.S. While we were waiting for the cab we had a chance to talk with Phil and Rhoda and the conversation was delightful.

Should we ever return to Killkenny we would love to stay at the Rosquil House again and we would recommend this B and B to anyone travelling to or through Killkenny....you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandMarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Rosquil House and wish we could have spent more. We arrived early and were not able to check in but Rhoda gave us lots of directions and good ideas of where to go in Kilkenny. The walk into town takes about 20 minutes, either along the river or down the winding streets. We visited St. Canice and Black Abbey but alas, got into town too late for the Smithwick's tour. Breakfast in the morning was amazing, one of the best we had in two weeks in Ireland. We loved Rosquil House and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We are 5 mature adults who just spent 3 weeks in Ireland. We had originally scheduled one night at Rosquil but added a second night. We are glad we did. Phil and Rhoda used to manage the homes of the rich in the US and europe. They learned their trade well. We were treated like royalty. The breakfast was excellant. fruit , cereal , brown bread , scones , apple bread, toast , cheese etc. for the cold and omlettes , bacon , and potatoes plus others for the hot. The omlettes ,cooked to order , i can still remember they were so good. Eggs cooked scrambled , fried or easy over. I asked for potatoes one day and they prepared an excellant dish. The rooms are large , clean and the beds very comfortable and good sized. The bathrooms were of very good size even by american standards. We paid 80 euro a night for a double and 45 for a single room.. Our hosts had great suggestions for eating and entertainment. The city was about a 15 minute walk in a safe and pleasant neighborhood.. Kilkenny Castle , St. Canice Cathedral , and the Black Abbey were very interesting. The shops were affordable and plentiful. Kilkenny is close to Jerpoint Abbey and Inistioge(pretty town to the south. )and several other interesting historical landmarks. Kilkenny is about an hour from Waterford , the Rock of Cashel, Powerscourt Estate and Gardens and Glendalough Abbey. It is only an hour and a half from Dublin. We drove from Dublin stopping at Powerscourt (great garden and interesting waterfall) and Glendalough Abbey before arriving in Kilkenny at 6:00 pm. our hosts were very friendly and always enthused about our needs. We stayed at 6 very nice bed and breakfasts that we had booked in advance and this was one of the groups favorite.You cannot go wrong with the location and the hosts. first rate!!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms were quiet and attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertbell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Our recent 4-day break in Kilkenny was made all the more enjoyable by our choice of Rosquil House as our base. We booked the self-catering mews at the rear of the property which was ideal for 2 but could accomodate more with the use of the sofa-bed. From the start, we were impressed by the warm welcome from our gracious hosts Rhoda and Phil who had stocked the kitchen/fridge with milk, juice, yogurts, bread and cereal. They are deservedly proud of their well-kept property and are knowlegeable on all that's happening in Kilkenny - they are more than willing to share that knowledge. Our one regret, perhaps, was not availing of the breakfast which gets such good reviews on this site.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fredel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our stay at the Rosquil House was a great kickoff to our Ireland vacation. Phil and Rhoda are pros, no doubt about it. They are friendly, knowledgeable, and very interesting. Their attention to detail is impeccable. The building is spotless, and our room was large and well appointed. And the breakfast? In a word, excellent. It seemed like just about everything was homemade (and top notch). It is a short walk into the city center, but since much of the walk is along the stunning riverfront, its certainly wasn't a burden. I would definitely recommend the Rosquil House.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,864 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosquil House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosquil House

Property: Rosquil House
Address: Rosquil House Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built seven bedroom ensuite guest accommodation, Rosquil House is situated within easy walking distance of the city centre and Kilkenny Golf Club. Amenities include lounge, disabled access, smoking patio and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rosquil House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosquil House Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing