We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place and Great Hosts”
Review of Newlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My group of 5 stayed here, unfortunately, for only one night . I sooo wish that we had been able to spend more time at this wonderful place. Mairead was exceptionally nice and helpful. And what a great cook she is too. Several times during our 15 day visit to Ireland my friends and I fondly thought about our first real Irish breakfast at Mairead's. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjeep90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Newlands Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 496 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Misread was busy so her husband met us at the door. We were having a wonderful visit. When mairead walked in she started talking so fast we had trouble trying to absorb the just of what she was saying. She was in automatic pilot just pumping out the usual speal when a new group is herded in. All we could do was shake our heads and hope one of use got the information we needed for breakfast parking and food. By next morning she slowed down some to get our breakfast order then she was off again, maybe they were overbooked but it was all so rushed we couldn't ask questions so we headed on in to town. The rooms were clean and there is a room to sit and unwind with a coffee . The rooms had nice showers and a tub and toiletries

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKCBammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Newlands Lodge is a beautiful, comfortable place to stay. Our hosts were very welcoming, and Mairead went out of her way to help us enjoy our first trip to Ireland. The room was spotlessly clean and very attractive. Breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful. I would highly recommend it to anyone and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merkty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent a night here in August and had the most relaxing time. We arrived early in the morning and Mairead was very accommodating and let us leave our luggage, when we came back in the evening our bags were all in our beautiful, spacious room. It was very comfortable and we felt at home with Mairead and Jimmy. The breakfast was delicious and we had plenty of choices. It was one of our most favorite places of all the B&B's we stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here in mid September and it was wonderful. The rooms were charming and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. They gave us great recommendations on pubs to eat at and also the Kells priory just down the road, which was one of my favorite stops on our trip. We really felt welcomed staying here and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janjanjanireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I and my two friends arrived with our newly rented car from Enterprise Kilkenny. We had trouble with the manual and driving on the left. Mairead made sure that we would not leave her place without contacting Enterprise. She called them and they came right out! End of car story. Newlands Lodge is wonderful. It is a short distance from the hustle and bustle of the town. We wanted a quiet place and Newlands is it. The rooms were lovely and two of us shared a room and bath. It was plenty big. I wish we could have stayed another night there, but we had our sights on making it to Cashel (which we did not) and on to Dingle(which we made in good time).
Newlands has beautiful landscape. The hosts are personable and so kind. The breakfast is so hearty that I could not eat all of it. I would love to go back there.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room in the lovely home.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliarosecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Newlands Lodge is just a few minutes drive outside the center of Kilkenny. This location gives a bit of a rural feel with the land surrounding this lovely home. The hosts Mairead and Jimmy were delightful and helpful with providing us information for our next days travel throughout the Irish countryside. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. This was my favorite lodging choice out of everywhere we stayed in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HH_in_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,783 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,985 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
4.0 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
424 reviews
7.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Address: Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: $106 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing