We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we've ever stayed!”
Review of Newlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place we've ever stayed!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Newlands Lodge for one night during our recent trip to Ireland and were blown away by the friendliness of the folks at Newlands Lodge! We were welcomed and treated like family. The accommodations were incredible and every detail was carefully tended to. The food was amazing and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. We truly hope to return some day and spend more time at the Newlands Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coylelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
111
265
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkstown, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at Newlands for one night while touring Ireland. We felt welcome and the B&B is clean with all the little touches to make our stay more comfortable. Mariad and Jim friendly and accomodating - Jim even drove us to town in the evening. Breakfast was delicious. Would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueClarkstown_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night after our Groupon "Castles in Ireland" tour was over. Believe it or not, this place stacked up against all those castles and I would stay here again in a minute! The place is just a few miles outside of town and it's a lovely setting, with beautiful gardens front and back. Very peaceful. The inside is so tastefully decorated that I couldn't believe Mairead hadn't hired a designer to appoint the place. The fabrics, the decor, all the little touches were just beautiful. Breakfast was delicious, especially the homemade jam, breads and delicious coffee.

Mairead gave us some great tips on where to park for free that evening. We were there during the Roots music festival so there were tons of people going from pub to pub and the opportunity to hear as much live music as you wanted. The next day we made sure to visit Kells Priory at Maidread's suggestion. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

Our bedroom was huge, with a king size VERY comfortable bed. Wifi worked perfectly. The private bathroom had all the amenities including hair-dryers etc. It was very quiet the night we were there. What more could you ask?

Both Jimmy & Mairead were so friendly and welcoming that we felt at home at once. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati_OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a wonderful B&B and great location. It's near Kilkenny but in the country so you can enjoy the best of both. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay with Mairead and Jimmy. They went above and beyond to make us feel at home and provided great suggestions of things to do and places to go. This was our first FULL Irish breakfast and it was AMAZING! Jimmy can cook. Don't be afraid of the black and white pudding. It's awesome. When we return to Ireland, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielka126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Outstanding, as all other reviews already mention. It's in a beautiful and quiet location, and the hosts couldn't be more friendly or accommodating. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a lovely Stay here at the end of our trip! Once again, trip advisor did not let us down! Jimmy and Mairead are so nice. They helped us find a place to go for supper and even directed us to a free parking lot right behind the restaurant. The rooms were lovely and the whole house was clean and welcoming. It is out of town a little, but don't let that discourage you from staying here. We had a wonderful stay and breakfast was great too. Has a putting green too,if you like practicing your swing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Newlands Lodge on April 3 and 4. Newlands is located about 6 km from Kilkenny, so you are out in the country but still close to Kilkenny and all it has to offer. Our room was spacious, very quiet, and well appointed. Mairead and Jimmy were great hosts, very helpful with good suggestions on things to do, places to eat and Mairead gives excellent directions - we had missed the Rock of Cashel coming up from Cork area, and Mairead directed us on the bucolic back roads to Cashel, and we got there without a hitch. Good breakfasts too (I particularly liked the "Newlands Egg melt"). Mairead has a lot of "little special touches" throughout Newlands Lodge. We enjoyed strolling through the medieval core of Kilkenny, and really enjoyed the music at Kytelers Inn, established way back in 1324. Thank you Mairead and Jimmy for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,896 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
7.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Property: Newlands Lodge
Address: Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Newlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing