We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Killarney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killarney House
Ranked #62 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The B&B was clean and friendly. It was a little farther out of town than we expected. We felt like we didn't get our value for the $. We stayed at some nicer hotel/B&B around the country for less. Maybe Saturday night in Kilkenny is an expensive option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtkcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The owner is cheerful and helpful, the place very quiet and the room very nice. Only that you have to walk 7 min to centre town, but I would repeat.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank beatriz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Terence, the owner of this B&B, is what makes this place! When I walked in the door he took one look at me (and the big pack on my back) and said, "that looks heavy- why don't you go drop that off in your room before we start?" - such a small thing, but very appreciated. And it only got better from there. He made me feel like a guest in his home rather than a traveler passing through. The rooms are a bit small but spotlessly clean and certainly comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The walk to town takes about 10 minutes, but it's an easy stroll. If I ever make it back to Kilkenny I will look forward to visiting Terence again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleGster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stayed with Terence as i was shooting a wedding in Kilkenny. Terence is a delightful man who can't do enough to help you. You feel as if you are staying in a home rather than a B & B, very welcoming and i would definitely stay there again. Lovely breakfast too :-)

Jayne King

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

see terence and he will take care of u. wonderful host. fantastic home. clean house, rooms, bathrooms, and dining area. everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp10nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
153 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

we stopped at killarney house at 8pm without a reservation (thankfully it was off-season). i rang the bell and terence welcomed us right in. our room was comfortable and warm (which ive found to be a luxury in ireland) ;) the location is a little further from town than i would ordinarily book, but it was still walkable...just not for our 4yr old at dinnertime ;) breakfast was great, room was clean! we really enjoyed our stay. the only thing i would change is the mattress. it was a bit 'springy'. however, i find most mattresses in europe a little uncomfortable....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol - UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. Terence was a great host, very friendly and informative - gave some great recommendations for pubs & restaurants. He also cooked a great Irish breakfast! Bedroom was nice, clean, functional and no problems to report. Only 10 mins walk from centre of Kilkenny. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#7 of 78 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#4 of 78 in Kilkenny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney House

Property: Killarney House
Address: Freshford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing