We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every hotel needs a Kevin (reception)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
“Every hotel needs a Kevin (reception)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was staying two nights and got lost on driving into city as sat nav died !! Rang the hotel for directions twice and Kevin could not have been more helpfull and then on ariving we had a laugh about it. I felt at home right away by his genuine attitude. We were using there facilities to run a two day course and believe me you could not expect any Better anywhere. I would recommend it to anyone for both a pleasant stay and fantastic facilities for biusness meetings and courses.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your genuine feedback it is very much appreciated. I am delighted to read your positive experience, I can assure you Kevin will be delighted with your comments. Kevin as with most of the team are working in the Hotel since we opened in 2006 and we as a team are dedicated to making each guests stay with us memorable for the right reasons.
Thanks again for your feedback, very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    269
    157
    59
    26
See reviews for
106
339
22
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was our 1st visit to Aspect Hotel and Kilkenny we had 5 lovely days at both. on arrival at the hotel we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and was helpful and pleasant at all times during our stay, then again all staff were of the same attitude, the breakfast was excellent and plenty, had evening meals twice in the restaurant of a very good standard and good value for the money.
The room was spacious and clean with the best hotel bed i had slept in, big and comfy.
Have no reservations in recommending this hotel was a great stay helped by good staff, good hotel, good price and lovely area will 100% be going back.
John Mccormack England

Room Tip: superior double rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent feed back it is very much appreciated. We value genuine feedback very much as we do your valuled business. Delighted to hear that you are 100% happy to return to stay with us again as are so many of our guests. Glad you enjoyed our good food, good price and genuine hospitality, all of which we offer as standard to our guests.
Thanks for your business it is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

What can you say about this "hotel". The photograph is a very misleading picture. Little did we know in going there, that the hotel was plonked in an industrial estate, initially, I thought our GPS was having a laugh. Our "room with a view" consisted of the likes of KFC and Woodies. On arrival, our first impression was underwhelming, with our "hotel" looking more like a drafy bus station, bar to the right, restaurant to the middle, reception to the left. END OF. We booked a package deal they were offering, and from the get go, felt treated just like so. These are deals to INTICE you back, and recommend to others, lets not forget. With a less than friendly receptionist. In receiving our key to our hotel room, we walked past MASSAGE CHAIRS with baggage taking up half the corridor! Crazy! When we reached our room, we stepped back into 1992. A shoddy decor, with a television from the stone age, Alexander Graham Bells telephone, a dirty throw over on the bed, and a bathroom you'd best describe as an airplane cubicle. With a dour sceptical mindset, we went down for dinner thnking things couldn't be any worse. This was part of our deal, along with a free drink, and breakfast the following morning. Dinner was comical, from the staff, to the food. Getting a bog standard menu, bog standard service (I don't blame the young one on duty, more Basil Fawlty who I saw giving out to her). Nothing more I hate than managers/waiters pacing up and down frantically. We got back late on, and went to sleep to only hear noise all night from either fans, or as someone said, a climate control machine. We got up for breakfast, I think I've had better in a youth hostel. We left in fits of laughter.
Never again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Japet0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I think you may have left an earlier review, as I mentioned we do value genuine feedback. Step back to 1992 and the hotel was a new build in 2006!!! Hello, give it up, my sides hurt from laughter.
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Apart from the fact we had a great night out once we left the hotel, I would be completley gutted. First of all there was no food being served in the hotel what so ever. So that was our plan of a meal out the window. We booked a superior rpom, which was a double bed and a old school tele thrown in a box room. And the receptionist/barman was one of the rudest people I have ever met. Wont be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadeylaylajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, surprised to hear that you found our bedrooms to be box rooms, given the actual size of the rooms.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Myself and my Girlfriend stayed here on a saturday night and was a lovely location to stay. It is outside the city but don't let that put you off as its lovely and quite location at night time. When we first entered we were greeted by a lovely woman on reception,Checked in very quickly and we were in our room in no time. Bed is also very comfy, A taxi into town for a night out is €8-€10,

At breakfast there is a very good selection of breakfast(Self selection) and staff always keep food topped up.

Other added bonus to my stay was the excellent wi-fi,Other hotels i stayed in it would cause bother but here, Always worked.

As i said in my title,Was a lovely stay and would be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Of-my-chest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback, we do value genuine feedback no matter what the comments are. Delighted you enjoyed our free wifi that is something that we spent over €15,000 on this year and we offer it free to our guests....because you are worth it. Our location is great especially if you had spent a night in the city centre where street noise is an issue in such a busy city as Kilkenny. Delighted to read that you will be back as that is what we love to hear, so many of our guests are regular stayers, its always good to get that vote of confidence when you see guests return time and time again.
Thank you for your business, it is very much appreciated.
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a truly horrible stay and would recommend that people avoid this hotel. Our double room itself was pretty standard with a small tv. It was at the back of the hotel and there was a loud noise from about 1am, possibly due to climate control machine, or fans outside, and this kept us awake for about 2 hours. We called downstairs and the porter on duty could not detect where it was coming from.
The receptionist we dealt with was passive aggressive from the moment we checked in and later in the evening, in a rude manner pointed at, and told my boyfriend not to eat pizza in the foyer, even though he had only just sat down to wait for me to come back from the car and had no intention to eat it there! He had merely opened the pizza box to look inside and see its contents. She was friendly to the pizza delivery driver so it is hard to know why she would not be the same with guests actually staying there! We will never return and they lost a lot of potential repeat business from us.
We called the manager the next day and he promised us a callback, saying this was not characteristic of this particular receptionist, but despite phoning again, he never returned the call.
There are other options in Kilkenny and Carlow at the same price and of a better standard so don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinnywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do welcome genuine reviews but reviews that are calculated are not really appreciated. Upon arrival at the Hotel you went on line to book the room. When you came to checkin you asked for us to charge the credit card used to make the booking but yet you did not have it on you or had we recieved authorisation to charge the card. So from there it went wrong for you!!!. When you got a Pizza delievered to the Hotel you were asked not to eat it in the Hotel Reception Area and your immediate response to this request was dont be jealous that your not having Pizza. A response that was totally unjustified. I did speak to the gentleman who did not want to pay for his stay over the phone and when I went to call him back he has no voice message on the phone so I could not leave a voice message!! Unfortunately we do not offer full refunds to guests that are not warranted. I know you did threaten that if a full refund was not forthcoming that my reviews would take a hit. Please continue to review my property if you wish but the public in general can see fake reviews very quickly when they are not in keeping with the majority of the guests feedback. As I said we do value genuine feedback, thank you for your comments.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was the cheapest hotel in our week long stay, and it was great. It's not really in the centre of town, and it's a litle weird being surrounded by big stores. Finding it was tricky but after getting directions it's actually good. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portuguesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the value that we offer. Please continue to tell your friends and family about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny as we would love to be able to welcome them in the future. Kind regards, Clement Gleeson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing