We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and had a very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. We ate in the restaurant each night and chose from the 3 course set menu for 2 which cost 49 euros and included a bottle of wine. The food was superb and the portions were enormous! The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanoeSevern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to offer us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed our services. We pride ourself on our cleaniness, value and hospitality and glad you enjoyed them also. Please continue to tell others about our property as we love to remain busy and we value repeat business. Looking forward to been able to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 785 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is located outside 3 km outside city center. No pubs or restaurants around. The room was big but basic with a small bathroom. Nice staff. The restaurant in the hotel was good and served HUGE portions of food. Breakfast was not to die for but aligned with the hotel style. I would not recommend this hotel if you plan to go out. Otherwise, it's ok if you can get a deal. A bit pricey otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julienchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of Aspect Hotel Kilkenny. I am glad to hear that you found the staff good and your evening meal to be enjoyable. We are just over 1KM to the city centre so 3km I think you may not have taken the direct route. We are always the best value in Kilkenny so I am unsure about your comment about been a bit pricey, perhaps when you stayed was at a peak demand date but yet I promise you we would still be the best value on offer in Kilkenny. Also remember always book directly with us were we promise is always the very best rate.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I went here on a Groupon deal with a group of girls. The staff were brilliant, friendly and so helpful. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiekennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do tell all of your friends and family about us as we would love to be able to welcome them to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The restaurant is like a canteen. Miss matched furniture . Dull drab old rooms.
No atmosphere/ambience.
It was clean and that's the Only good thing I can say. We booked for two nights and left after the first night

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikeadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. Delighted to read that you enjoyed our cleaniness. However your other comments are far different from the our guest experience, I note you only stayed here because you got tired and perhaps really wish to be somewhere else on the night.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here last night on a groupon deal and we got what we paid for, a basic but clean hotel. Staff were brilliant. From the guys on reception to the girl in restaurant they couldn't do enough for us and all were very helpful and friendly.

The Hotel is in a small retail park with ample free parking. It is about 15-20 minute walk to city centre but we were prepared for this. I wouldn't drive to centre because you will have to pay for parking.
Great toy shop next to hotel and a KFC for a take away, think hotel restaurant was open til 9pm.

Just 1 negative the breakfast was a little poor, it is self service which is fine but the hot breakfast was cold, I would understand if we were late to breakfast but this was at 8.30am. Maybe if hot food was covered, not sure how it could be solved but have had self service breakfasts in other hotels and it was kept hot. I noticed afterwards that the couple at table next to us asked waitress to heat up their breakfast and it was no problem for waitress.

Basic hotel outside city centre with friendly staff but we feel it was good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your genuine feedback it is very much appreciated. With regards to your comments on Breakfast cold breakfast is far from the norm for us but one day recently an element went in the unit that keeps the breakfast hot and we were not aware of the cold breakfast till people started handing them back. Once we discovered the issue we did serve the hot breakfast directly from the kitchen. Thank you for noting this to us.
Delighted to read that you found the hotel clean and the staff to be brilliant as we do try to deliver excellent customer service to the guest that stay with us. unfortunately not all guest that stay with us write reviews about our hotel as they try to damage our reputation.
Please continue to spread the positive news about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny and remember we are always the best value hotel in Kilkenny, but its value without comprimise.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed two nights on a business trip.
I understand all the other reviews giving out about the location. It is in an industrial park, surrounded by big, bland shops like Halfords, Woodies etc, and a KFC.
Nothing else here and I bet it's bait of a hike to town.
Suited us fine though as we're just driving to different locations around Kilkenny for work.

Staff were friendly, especially the waitresses in the restaurant. Food is okay, and breakfast, though self service, is good. Coffee could be better.

Room was clean and well presented. One thing to note though is that the radiator is hidden behind the floor to ceiling curtains. I couldn't find it and thought the room quite cold.
Only spotted the radiator in the morning when I opened the curtains. Not that it would have done much good behind the curtain.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandfatherClock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time to offer your feedback it is very much appreciated. Our location is in a Retail Park just off the ring road but it does allow for a quiter stay by night away from the noise from the pubs and clubs, but yet only a 15-20 minute walk to city centre.
The radiator in the room is behind a net curtain and generally people notice it but it is something worth mentioning to us as we can note it in our guest directory, but as you mentioned our rooms are clean. I have also passed on your comments about the lady in the Restaurant.
Thank you for taking time to offer your feed back.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here for a one night stay on November 5th 2012

Positives:
- Clean hotel
- Room was basic but OK if just being used as a place to sleep
- complementary hot/cold buffet breakfast in the morning
- inexpensive ( personally paid $60CAD a night through hotels.com )
- free onsite parking
- free wifi

Negatives:
- Location not good. In a business park on the outside of town. If sightseeing you have to commute and park in town ( 10min drive )
- older hotel which in my opinion had a old musty smell in the hallways and room

Overall just an average hotel that is great if you are looking to save money on a nights stay and just need a place to sleep at night

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kowalsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. Glad to read that you found the property clean and inexpensive. Our location is just over 1km to city centre so for it to take 10 minutes to drive I believe you must have taken the non direct route, I drove it earlier this morning during rush hour and go to the Castle which is in the centre in just under 3 minutes.
I will check the corridors for the musty smell that you mentioned but perhaps it may have been the smell of some new carpet that we have had laid as we continually invest in the property even thought the Hotel was a new build only 6 years ago.
Thanks again for your review it is appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,039 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 19 in Kilkenny
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: $56 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing