We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very solid mid-range choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very solid mid-range choice”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights for a wedding in Kilkenny. In summary, for a mid-range budget hotel this is about as good as it gets.
Modern hotel on edge of a retail park on the by-pass that still has remnants of when it was a Days Inn. Far superior to any Days Inn I've seen and from ovehearing comments from staff and repeat customers its improved much since this site was a Days Inn.
Early arrival and a room was found immediately.
Roomy bedroom, two chairs (why do so many budget hotels only provide one), everything worked and was well maintained. Bath as well as a shower and the normal kettle, coffee/tea and biscuits.
Wi-Fi is only available in the reception area, cable in the bedroom which is a pain if you have an Ipad. However Wi-Fi is totally open, no passwords or similar nonsense to get access.
Didn't take the buffet breakfast but did take an evening meal in the restaurant one night. A limited menu but what we had was good and plentiful and good value.
Staff were all very professional and seemed well trained and in good humour. Little things like asking for change, wake up calls and directions were addressed in a positive, professional and helpful manner.
Parking was plentiful.
Not sure what more you could want or expect from such a mid-range hotel option.

Both nights we were there there were large coach tour parties staying at the hotel.
Otherwise it seems a mix of local business people and leisure visitors that use it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank handfordr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments about the various aspects of our Hotel, your comments are appreciated and shared with the Team. Last week I did meet with an IT company to discuss Wi-fi through out the Hotel given that technology seems to be moving to more hand held devices but thanks for high lighting this. I do hope that you not only enjoyed your stay with us in Kilkenny but also the city in general and the Wedding. I do hope that in the future I will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
Gereral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    279
    160
    61
    26
See reviews for
109
349
23
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Trip to Ireland with extended family. Booked this room through Expedia yet when we got to this hotel their advertised rates were much cheaper. Staff was nasty. Lobby filled with drunk disorderly people that keep us up all night. Rooms dirty. Bypass this hotel.
Lucille Beseler

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear Ms. Beseler,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and while it is not very positive it is very welcomed. When we receive feedback we always try to make improvements to enhance our guests experience for the future. I have sent you a separate e-mail just looking for some more information with regards to your stay but I am still awaiting your response, it would be welcomed and dealt with in a positive manner. Please be assure that the level of service you seemed to have received is far from norm. I am looking forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
cgleeson@premgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here for one night with our 5 month old son. Nice hotel. Staff were very helpful. Room was clean & spacious & quiet. Good breakfast on offer, we just helped ourselves. Would stay here again. Its a bit out of the town & a little hard to find if you're not familiar with the area, I know where it was though now if I had to find it. It was excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We spent two nights at the Aspect Hotel and were very satisfied with the general quality and the breakfasts - plentiful choice. Our room, however, was rather hot at night - but this probably had a good deal to do with the unseasonably warm weather we had during our visit.

What really impressed us was the response of the hotel management to an observation about our stay on leaving. During our second night, an idiot (or group of idiots) decided it would be funny to knock on bedroom doors between around 3am and 5.30am. Given that we are a family with a four-year-old child and a 79-year-old father travelling with us, this was far from funny. When I finally managed to find one of those responsible, he looked like a young man in his early 20s rather than a teenager or younger as you might have expected. Really pathetic.

But this wasn't the hotel's fault at all - and I simply mentioned on leaving that we hadn't slept all that well on the second night. The response was immediate and impressive - the manager immediately removed our second night's charge, said he would be viewing the video and that those responsible would be picking up our bill. This was not at all what I had been looking for - I was merely responding to the routine question "was everything OK with your stay?" - and this commitment to customer service should make anyone thinking of staying her confident that this is a hotel that will try to put things right - even when it isn't directly in their control.

So well done Aspect Hotel, Killarney - with that kind of customer service, you deserve your business to prosper!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We booked a double room with breakfast for the Sunday of the Bank Holiday as we were attending the Rhythm and Roots festival. Thankfully the lovely receptionist allowed us to check in early as we were due in town for 3pm. The room was enormous and spotless. No frills but I wasn't expecting any for €89 for the night including breakfast. As we left we asked at reception how long it would take to walk to town and we were told 20mins and given directions. We were sent out the back of the hotel and onto the Waterford Rd. only to arrive again at the front of the hotel 20 mins after we'd started walking. What we should have done was just crossed the car-park to get to the main road and I was a bit annoyed that we'd been sent so far out of our way. So it took us nearly 45 mins to walk into town. The hotel do a special rate with taxis from there. When we arrived back at the hotel at 11pm we went straight to sleep as it was lovely and quiet. But then we were woken up at 3am by a stag party coming back. I know it's not the hotels fault but why can't other guests have a little consideration? As the hotel is so far out of town at least you are spared the screaming on the streets. There was a good spread for breakfast and if we had to stay in Kilkenny again I'd have no problem booking a room here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0ul0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Good, inexpensive accommodation. A bit out of town on an industrial estate. But clean and good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastclaremusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Nice hotel.
Very clean and spacious rooms and a huge and comfortable bed.
I will definetely stay there again when i'm travelling through Kilkenny

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiniDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing