We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks a lot of the right boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ticks a lot of the right boxes”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stay here on a two night family break. The Hotel and grounds are beautiful. The room we were initially given was next to the lift and a fire door that slammed shut every 2 mins with passing customers. We went to reception and had the room changed with no fuss.

The food was excellent and worthy of 5* rating. Breakfast included fresh juices and a great selection of freshly baked breads. Our evening meal in the The Perla restaurant was first class with proper trained waiter service. Our meal in the bar on the other night was also very good.

The swimming pool is a bit on the small side especially given the lavish size of the hotel.

You can often feel a bit stifled by the service in a five star hotel but this was not the case. All the staff were nice and very helpful.

I hope to return with my wife for a visit in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    509
    293
    111
    45
See reviews for
574
1,052
18
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

First time back in years, this time with the kids (8 and 11). Kids loved it, as did we. Hotel v well maintained, rooms good (if somewhat tight for space given our group). Food good. hotel was full, so breakfast was busy. Staff are excellent, presence of the owner was good to see. Couple of small negatives - the mountain bikes were not in good nick, no helmets available. Cycle areas not clearly evidenced. A small quibble, and one that I am sure they will put right

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARE, IRELAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed here for my friends wedding. Had a speedy check in with Maggie even got a complimentry upgrade to a suite so thrilled room as stunning. The only down side is I was a single person the room and payed nearly the same price as 2 people in another room. I know this is common in most hotels but they have everything you could think of the make your stay enjoybale and comfortable. Really enjoyed conor in the bar as well very friendly to all the guests. I will definately be back with my family for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACSPUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed here with my wife and 2 young kids last week. I have since recommended this place at every opportunity. It ticks all the boxes, right from the moment you enter the gates you know this hotel will leave you with a lasting impression. The original house is remarkable, it draws you in and you can almost sense the past lives that inhabited this amazing house. The hotel itself is very contemporary but with a bow to the plush and luxurious. The service was relaxed but incredible attentive. We were immediately at home and our kids were welcomed (always a plus when you are a parent and mindful that you might be invading other guests space). The room had all the mod cons that you would expect in a 5 star but the walk in showers were a very nice touch. Each time we left the room, we looked forward to returning, more often that not the cleaners would have been and chocolates, bottled water, slippers by the bed-side were again a very nice touch. It had all the pomp and splendor without the pretense. The service and attitude of the staff was remarkable.
The grounds (of which there are 170 acres) are manicured and beg to be explored. I would defy anyone not to take a stroll.
I am going to close out not but if you fancy a break and value style, class and pedigree get yourself a deal and book this place. You will not be disappointed!!!
I am hoping to revisit next month. I just discovered I missed the X bar and wine cellar- must leave the kids behind the next time and have a romantic break. The nicest hotel I have stayed in by a country mile!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KavCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband & 2yr old daughter stayed for 3 nights. There were a lot of other families staying at the same time with young children and the staff and facilities were excellent ( childrens play area, pool, dogs, donkeys, walks, cookies at bed time) We had dinner in Yindees and the food was lovely. We also dined in the conservatory which was nice but more suitable to adults. The staff throughout the hotel were always very friendly. The room was very clean and well equiped. We were disappointed that the XBar was not open. The breakfast in the hotel was the best we have had in a long time, loads to choose from and everything very fresh.There is a very small gym but it was not busy. Unfortunately we did not get a chance to try the spa as it was booked out. The only downside to the hotel was the swimming pool, some tiles were missing were dangerous and should be replaced before someone has an accident. We will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie01Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Visited Lyrath for a wedding and was blown away by the place. From the moment the doorman greeted us, until we left the following day, the attention to detail in every part of our stay was simply amazing. Many hotels could do with sending their staff here to learn how things should be done. Can't say enough good things about Lyrath, and without question will be back - only this time we'll stay for longer!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Ireland loves modern hotels, but this one is not only modern but luxurious! From the lobby on, the attention to detail in the decor was outstanding. When we came in, someone parked our car, and a girl walked us down to the room and showed us everything in the room. We wanted to explore the town, and the girl spent awhile with us explaining everything to do. We didn't have kids, but there seemed to be so many things for them to do. I went running, and even the brochure they gave me to explain the paths was of the highest quality. The pool and jacuzzi area is good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tb1travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,861 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,003 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing