We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed in lots hotels, never in one of such luxury as the Lyrath”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Booked 3 night B&B. Never have I stayed in such a fabulously luxurious hotel and got so much attention and customer service! Lyrath is pure heaven! From our initial enquiry with Trish (very warm ,welcoming lady) to checking out, everything was so hassle-free and friendly. We arrived on Sunday to this fabulous hotel! The foyer is like walking into a palace - fabulous paintings, greeklike statues which were magnificant! The check-in was faultless. We were brought up to our room, which was amazing but balcony was little bit too exposed to the guests sitting outside the bar so we requested a change which was done with no hassle and very quickly. We were even shown the other room to see if we liked it first! Of course, it was just fabulous!! Double bed, single bed, very spacious with beautiful big balcony - very elegant wrought iron table and chairs (chairs were swivel and rocked too!!!) very very comfortable to relax in! Views of the beautiful garden below... Room was very comfortable and luxurious with soft carpet, bed had beautiful cotton sheets and plenty pillows. Plasma TV was hugh and when we requested a DVD player on booking, it was already installed in our room at no extra charge!! Bottle wine and butlers chocs awaiting us which we enjoyed very much! Complimentary Irish Times every mornning on our doorstep! Turndown services which chocolate on our pillows - wow such service! As another reviewer said, no intrusion during our stay by the staff when chancing our towels and making our bed. Complimentary bathrobe and slippers - bliss after a shower and lounging on the balcony sipping our wine! Forgot to mention - the towels were so thick and soft - amazing! Bathroom was just gorgeous - large bath with side taps!!! Beautiful soft lighting in bathroom if you prefer or main light if that' your choice! Wet-room shower which was nice and big - plenty hot water! Tea/coffee/ biscuits which were replenished every day! I can't praise the staff enough for their service. We dined in Yindees on the first night and it was fabulous. The food was excellent. I thought as we were on a package we wouldnt get as good food as the A La Carte. How wrong I was!! It was mouthwatering and most enjoyable and the staff int he restaurant couldn't do enough! We dined in La Perla the 2nd night and while I absolutely loved the food, I did prefer Yindee's because it was smaller and cosier! We swam on two of our days and while the pool is indeed small, it was perfect for that relaxing swim. Not at all cold, just the right temperature and the funky chairs on the side were lovely! Again staff on both days were very welcoming and friendly! Breakfast was unbelievable! Everything you could imagine was on the menu and anything you wanted you could get! Again staff very very friendly and helpful! The breakfast room was very full on all morning but staff were there to help everyone and they all did this will a smile. We booked bikes on our 2nd day which were free!!! We had a lovely leisurely cycle around the grounds which were just lovely and we enjoyed that very much! The dogs were a bonus. Three fabulous labradors who were very friendly and even went walking with some of the guests:) :).....Everyone seemed to love seeing them around and what lucky dogs to have such beautiful garden to roam in :)...they were such gorgeous dogs! Charlie who loved to lie in the shade and take in everything that was going on around him. Oscar and I'm afraid I've forgotten the other name but both dogs very lively and playful and very friendly. I noticed the children who were visiting the hotel had a great time petting them and the dogs were just amazingly friendly! Our checkout was stressfree and went very smoothly. Again we were greeted with such friendliness and they even had time for a chat and a laugh! The doorman is such a sweetie. Offered to get my car and bring it to the front door. Helped us put our bags into the car and was such a chatty and friendly man. Lovely smile! A true gentleman. We will definitely come back to this hotel. It was by far the nicest experience we've ever had in a hotel. I can't think of words to describe our experience and to thank all the staff in the Lyrath for making our stay such a fabulous and enjoyable and relaxing one! Well done to all!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,259 - 2,265 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed in Lyrath in May for 3 nights with my husband and 3yr old son. Booked a suite which was absolutely fabulous, very spacious room with a separate lounge area with 2 large 3 seater couches and a large dining table with 6 chairs. Bathroom was average size with a stand alone bath-tub and a double vanity unit. Loved the walk-in rain fall shower. Housekeeping excellent with turn-down each night. Also for kids is a complimentary service of cookies and milk before bed. Nice touch!
Ordered room service the first evening, ate in Yindees restaurant on the 2nd evening and had dinner which was included in our package in La Perla on our last evening. Would have preferred Yindees our of all 3 dining experiences.
Excellent facilities for kids, have a play park with swings and a football pitch which our son loved. They also have 3 beautiful labrador dogs who sit outside the front door. Lovely walks around the grounds only downside is the actual grounds need alot of attention and look in much need of general maintenance.
Would strongly recommend this hotel and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShamMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Oh wow - we stayed here the first time on Good Friday, and enjoyed our stay so much we booked in again for a night at the end of June. On my previous visit, I had noticed rooms with balconies, so emailed them asking if it would be possible to get one, got an email back saying no problem, and got the upgrade free of charge! They do customer relations very well here, and on our second visit, got a box of butlers chocolates & a lovely hand written note from the hotel manager, welcoming us back - a very nice touch. If you want to get away and just kick back and relax, this is the place to go. It is a fabulous hotel, the staff are so lovely, the rooms are fabulous, the food in La Perla is of the highest quality, the grounds are amazing, and you really do leave feeling great. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We recently attended a wedding at the hotel, it is an amazing hotel and some of the staff were fantastic especially the banquetting staff. However we felt the girls on the front desk were not helpful at all, very arrogant to be honest. This started prior to our arrival when trying to a book a room to the time we checked out. Also on check-out i over heard other guests attending the wedding comment on how they received wine & chocolates in their room but when I spoke to some of the main bridal party including parents of the bride and groom this was not the case. Regular guests at the wedding received VIP amenities but the most important people didnt! I could not understand it.

Apart from that the night was amazing, food was superb(although skipped breakfast). The only let down I felt was the front desk team.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetatravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We arrived on fri 16th to a lovely welcome from Tom the doorman very friendly guy. We were brought straight to the room which was lovely although had stayed previously in a triple room which had better views so was slightly disapointed.
The room definitly needs more drawer space. I then headed to the spa for a lovely back massage, would have liked the therapist to ask what type of pressure I preferred as I'm used to deep massage so wasn't really impressed but it was still nice. The chillout room was too bright after coming out of a dimly lit room so didn't hang around too long there.
Had the most gorgeous thai meal that evening and breakfast was superb. All in all a great chill out place relaxed so much.
P.S if your looking for a restaurant in the town we had a totally FAB lunch in Rinnucini italian across from the castle still can't stop talking about it !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBunny33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

A stunning hotel situated a mere five minutes drive from Kilkenny City. The quality of the Lyrath is evident from the first moment you turn off the main road and begin to wind your way through the vast and pictureque grounds. The hotel iteself is based around the old Lyrath house which still fronts the building and maintains its old world charm with Morning Room, Lounge, and Snooker room. Behind it, the modern world begins with a beautifully designed reception area. Everything is clean, fresh and well-maintained. Our room was just their basic offering but it was neat and tidy with good space and good features. The bathroom in particular was well designed with mood lighting and wet-room shower.
The service of the room, which can be a nusiance in many hotels, was done quickly and without fuss, In fact, we were never once interrupted in our room with the work being done during our short absences, including nightly turndown service.
The food in the bar was exquisite and in particular the Fish & Chips was without question the tastiest I have ever eaten. The fish was like battered cream and the chips have rendered my appreciation of any other kind ruined. We ate in the hotel's Asia restaurant in the evening and the food was wonderful again.
The one limitation on the hotel is the somewhat below standard leisure centre. In a word everything is small, the pool, the steam room, and the changing rooms (the male one anyway) were virtually unuseable with more than two occupants. A strange oversight in a hotel of this quality and with no evident limitation on space.
However, that is a minor gripe in an otherwise faultless hotel that exhales peace and relaxation. It was while I was ambling to breakfast one morning, listing to the soft ambient music being played in the corridor, and looking out over the picturesque grounds that I realised I had discovered a true gem.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

When we arrived, we got upgraded to a superior room. The room was spacious and very clean. No problems whatsoever.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,032 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $138 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper’s is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee’s serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing