We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2010

A stunning hotel situated a mere five minutes drive from Kilkenny City. The quality of the Lyrath is evident from the first moment you turn off the main road and begin to wind your way through the vast and pictureque grounds. The hotel iteself is based around the old Lyrath house which still fronts the building and maintains its old world charm with Morning Room, Lounge, and Snooker room. Behind it, the modern world begins with a beautifully designed reception area. Everything is clean, fresh and well-maintained. Our room was just their basic offering but it was neat and tidy with good space and good features. The bathroom in particular was well designed with mood lighting and wet-room shower.
The service of the room, which can be a nusiance in many hotels, was done quickly and without fuss, In fact, we were never once interrupted in our room with the work being done during our short absences, including nightly turndown service.
The food in the bar was exquisite and in particular the Fish & Chips was without question the tastiest I have ever eaten. The fish was like battered cream and the chips have rendered my appreciation of any other kind ruined. We ate in the hotel's Asia restaurant in the evening and the food was wonderful again.
The one limitation on the hotel is the somewhat below standard leisure centre. In a word everything is small, the pool, the steam room, and the changing rooms (the male one anyway) were virtually unuseable with more than two occupants. A strange oversight in a hotel of this quality and with no evident limitation on space.
However, that is a minor gripe in an otherwise faultless hotel that exhales peace and relaxation. It was while I was ambling to breakfast one morning, listing to the soft ambient music being played in the corridor, and looking out over the picturesque grounds that I realised I had discovered a true gem.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,473)
There are newer reviews for Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,202 - 2,208 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

When we arrived, we got upgraded to a superior room. The room was spacious and very clean. No problems whatsoever.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel on Sunday and Monday nights 18th & 19th July last.
Excellent room on 4th Floor overlooking ponds at rear of hotel, bathroom very well laid out with separate bath and wonderful shower.
Only minor concern was lack of drawer space in room.
All staff were very helpful and gave exceptional service in all areas of hotel, including turn down service each evening.
We had dinner (included in overall price) on one evening in the Asian restaraunt in the hotel and it was excellent but from a limited menu which was all that was allowed in the price. I would consider it expensive if not included in price.
The only gripe I would have is that the bar area off the reception area is very disjointed and as a result can lack any form of atomosphere especially on Sunday night when the hotel was not that busy. Drinks and coffees also expensive.
Also the integration of the existing older house with the new reception area did not impress and could be fairly draughty on a windy day.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fruits, nuts, cereals, cold meats and cheeses alongwith an excellent full fry.
The breads, scones and pastries were also excellent.
One bit of advice is to book spa treatments when making reservation as on Monday none were available even though it was a quiet day in the hotel.
Excellent although small swimming pool, with sauna steam room etc.
Grounds are also very well mantained and I took one of the walks around the grounds (details available from reception) and had a very enjoyable 1 hour walk.
Would strongly recommend this hotel and there is excellent value for money to be had especially mid week.
Also loved the 3 dogs attached to the hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cappa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My Husband spent a weekenn in early July in Lyrath. It was our first time to stay there, and hopefully it will not be the last. We could not fault the hotel and found out stay very relaxing indeed. Food, furnishings and rooms all of the highest standard, and the service offered by all staff was falutless. A totally relaxing stay in luxurious surroundings!

We also had treatments in the spa which we very good, but do not expect a large thermal suite as there is only a sauna and steam room on offer, but admittedly the outdoor heated jacuzzi pool is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The hotel was nothing special - the least nice of our entire trip. It was clean and modern but the food was BAD. I would not stay there again. There has to be something better out there!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Just back from a thoroughly relaxing stay at this wonderful hotel. The grounds & views are beautifully unspoilt, the rooms are spacious & luxurious and the spa is an absolute must if you're here to relax and unwind. The breakfast buffet has something for everyone, from nuts & muesli to traditional irish breakfasts and everything in between; served in La Perla with floor to ceiling windows it's a lovely spot to start the day. The staff are helpful, polite and always smiling. The health club has a good-sized warm indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and separate gym with all the extras you'd expect of a luxury destination. I would definitely recommend the hotel for an indulgent break, and the only negative I can think of (which isn't the hotel's responsibility) is the cost of taxis (€20 return to the city centre) for those who like to dine with a drink or two of an evening.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My fiance took me to The Lyrath Estate Hotel and it was a wonderful experience! We stayed in a suite that was lovely! We also had great service from the staff. The food, champagne and wine were all delicious. And the couples massage at the spa the next day was so relaxing. I will definitely be back to The Lyrath!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittsburgh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,780 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,030 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: $155 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing